4.5 out of 5

"Had a wonderful stay here, room was great. Had plenty of room for the two of us and really central so we could walk everywhere. " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 18 Feb 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne puts you in the heart of Melbourne, within steps of Melbourne's GPO and Emporium Melbourne. Highlights at this property include a spa tub, a sauna, and in-room kitchens.

Washers/dryers, free WiFi, and free wired Internet are featured in all 135 apartments. Room service is available and kitchens come with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops, so in-room dining is easy. Sitting areas, digital TV, and DVD players are also available.

This business-friendly property offers free WiFi in public areas, a fitness centre, and a business centre. Added amenities include laundry facilities, concierge services, and a 24-hour front desk. Continental breakfast is available daily between 6:30 AM and 10:30 AM. There's also valet parking, along with the convenience of an airport shuttle.

Places within a short walk of this 4-star Melbourne Central Business District property include Bourke Street Mall and Royal Arcade.

Deluxe One Bedroom Apartment

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
$218 per night

Deluxe Two Bedroom Apartment

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Executive One Bedroom Apartment

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Somerset On Elizabeth ratings based on 386 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.5 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5

Very central

Had a wonderful stay here, room was great. Had plenty of room for the two of us and really central so we could walk everywhere.

Posted by , from Brisbane on 18 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Middle of Melbourne convenience.

Enjoyed stay but shower over bath very hard to negotiate.

Posted by on 18 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Feb 2018 by Udaya Herath,Assistant Guest Service Manager.

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your stay with us.Our apologies that the small details were not up to expectations.Your comments have been noted and will be addressed with the relevant departments.Looking forward to welcoming you back again for another great time in Melbourne. Kind Regards, Udaya Hearth, Assistant Guest Service Manager.

4 out of 5

Brillant location

Booked apartment for 2 nights, perfect location for melbourne city activities...shopping, dining, galleries etc.

Posted by , from singapore on 16 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Feb 2018 by Udaya Herath,Assistant Guest Service Manager.

Dear Anne, Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to Somerset on Elizabeth. We are grateful for your visit and we are delighted with your wonderful comments. We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Regards, Udaya Herath, Assistant Guest Service Manager.

5 out of 5

Great location, very central to everything.

We had 4 adults stay in two bedroom apartment, there was so much space, a huge living area as well as two bathrooms.

Posted by , from Victoria on 11 Feb 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Feb 2018 by Udaya Herath,Assistant Guest Service Manager.

Dear Jade, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback with regards to your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear such positive feedback from you.We look forward to welcoming you back to Somerset in the near future. Kind Regards, Udaya Herath, Assistant Guest Service Manager.

4 out of 5

Couldn't be more central apartment hotel.

Pros: For the same cost, or less, as a boring hotel room, I got a studio apartment with comprehensive self-catering facilities and a washer/dryer.
Cons: The mattress was lumpy. A common complaint, looking at other reviews.
Location: What a brill location! Bourke St Mall, short stroll to South Bank Yarra, and too many on-the-doorstep restaurants and cafés to list. Esp Hardware St.
I needed to be close to Melbourne Central, and to reach my accommodation easily by public transport. Skybus goes frequently and cheaply(ish) from Tullamarine to Southern Cross Station (Spencer St in old money), and then a free tram ride takes you to within a minute stroll of the Somerset.

Posted by , from Brisbane Qld on 31 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

2 Feb 2018 by Udaya Herath,Assistant Guest Service Manager.

Dear Richard, Thank you for the review! We are so pleased to hear that you had an amazing experience while staying with us. We pride ourselves in creating memories through excellent customer service and that personalized touch that the Somerset on Elizabeth is known for. Thanks for the review and we can't wait for you to return and stay with us. Kind Regards, Udaya Herath,Assistant Guest Service Manager.

5 out of 5

Great place

Good location. Very comfortable, good staff, would come back

Posted by on 21 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Jan 2018 by Udaya Herath,Assistant Guest Service Manager.

Pleased to have you stay with us at Somerset on Elizabeth. Your appreciation about the team and the services offered to you means a lot for us. Such a genuine and feedback will surely help other travelers to take the right decision of staying at Somerset . Looking forward to welcome you soon! Kind Regards, Udaya Herath.

5 out of 5

Amazing and clean.

Recently stayed for my partners birthday and the room was nice and clean and the staff were amazing. Will be staying again!

Posted by , from Geelong. on 14 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jan 2018 by Udaya Herath,Assistant Guest Service Manager.

Dear Kira, Thank you for the lovely review! We are very proud to hear about the wonderful stay we were able to share with you. It is great to hear that you loved our accommodating service as well as our spacious rooms. We can't wait to see you again soon as we'd love to share another great experience with you. Kind Regards, Udaya Herath.

4 out of 5
Last 4 years we have stopped here , so central to Everthing

Posted by , from newcastle on 7 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Jan 2018 by Udaya Herath,Assistant Guest Service Manager.

Hello Chris, Great to see feedback from someone like you who is very loyal to Somerset.Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed every time you were staying with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in.Looking forward to welcome you back soon. Kind Regards,

4 out of 5

Location, Location, Location

Pros: Location
Cons: Refurbishment is overdue
Location: Close to Restaurant and shopping centres
Great city stay at the Somerset-definitely would stay there again. Perfect location

Posted by on 7 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Jan 2018 by Udaya Herath,Assistant Guest Service Manager.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Somerset on Elizabeth. Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us. We use feedback, such as yours, to continuously make changes to our hotel to improve the guest experience. We are looking forward to your return. Kind Regards,

4 out of 5

Great hotel central location

Staff are excellent, very helpful, facilities excellent, location brilliant, but sadly for us the bed was way too soft, they did try their very best to help us with changing beds and adding a board but still too soft for our comfort, next time I’ll be requesting a hard bed before I stay

Posted by , from Home Hill Nth Queensland on 4 Jan 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Jan 2018 by Udaya Herath,Assistant Guest Service Manager.

Dear Joan, We appreciate your wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay. We are delighted to hear you had a wonderful experience enjoying the location and staff hospitality.Next time please let us know in advance if you have any special request,our team will take every effort to make them. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.We look forward to welcome you back! Kind regards,

About the Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne

Location 250 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, VIC 3000

Property Features

Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne offers its guests a spa tub, a sauna, and a fitness centre. A computer station is on site, and both WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. Business amenities include A business centre, a limo/town car service, and a meeting room. Event space at this apartment measures 538 square feet (50 square metres). The business-friendly Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne also features tour or ticket assistance, concierge services, and complimentary newspapers in the lobby. For a fee, parking is available.

  • 1 building
  • 135 guestrooms or units
  • 10 levels
  • 538 sq ft of conference space
  • 50 sq. m of conference space
  • Built in 2003
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Business facilities
  • 1 conference room
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Car service
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Lift

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • Washer/dryer
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Melbourne, VIC (MEL-Tullamarine) (23.8 km / 14.8 mi)
  • Train station: Southern Cross Station (1.1 km / 0.7 mi)
  • Metro station: Flinders Street Station (0.8 km / 0.5 mi)
  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne offers 135 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with washers/dryers and DVD players. This accommodation offers separate sitting areas. Televisions come with digital channels. Accommodation at this 4-star apartment has kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, microwaves and kitchenware and utensils. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks, complimentary weekday newspapers and telephones. Additionally, rooms include a safe and coffee/tea makers. Housekeeping is offered on a daily basis and in-room massages can be requested.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Washer and dryer
  • Sitting area
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Digital channels
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Weekday newspapers (free)
  • Massage in room (surcharge)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a continental breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 10:30 AM.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the apartment include a spa tub, a sauna and a fitness centre. The recreational activities listed below are available either on-site or nearby; fees may apply.

  • Bicycle rentals nearby

Accessibility

If you need to make special requests for accessibility needs, please note them at check-out when booking your stay.

  • In-room accessibility

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children 6 years old and younger stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for AUD 50 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Extra-person charges may apply and vary depending on property policy.

Government-issued photo identification and a credit card or cash deposit are required at check-in for incidental charges.

Special requests are subject to availability upon check-in and may incur additional charges. Special requests cannot be guaranteed.

  • Union Pay

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for continental breakfast: AUD17 per person (approximately)
  • Valet parking fee: AUD45 per day (in/out privileges)
  • Rollaway bed fee: AUD50 per night
  • On-site credit card charges are subject to a surcharge

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Somerset Elizabeth Melbourne Apartment
  • Somerset Elizabeth Apartment
  • Somerset Elizabeth Melbourne
  • Somerset Elizabeth
  • Somerset On Elizabeth, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
  • Somerset On Elizabeth Hotel Melbourne

You should know

  • Children 6 years old and younger stay free in the same room as the parent or guardian when using existing bedding.