Skip to main content
Beginning of main content

"Next time we may or may not stay in a cabin. We are both light sleepers so heard guests coming and leaving with heavy luggage almost nightly. " More

By a verified traveller on Fri 29 Jul 2022

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Darwin Resort you'll be 2.2 km (1.4 mi) from World War II Display and 3.2 km (2 mi) from Darwin Aviation Museum. Highlights at this hotel include an outdoor swimming pool and in-room free WiFi.

This hotel has free WiFi in public areas, a library, and a computer station. Additionally, you'll find a microwave in a common area and a refrigerator in a common area. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

With a stay at this 3-star Winnellie hotel, you'll be 3.9 km (2.4 mi) from Charles Darwin National Park and 4.7 km (2.9 mi) from Museum and Art Gallery of the Northern Territory.

Budget Queen

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
NZ$110* Per night/room 4 Sep. - 5 Sep.

Standard Queen

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Queen Cabin

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Access Room

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Family Cabin

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Spa Cottage

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Darwin Resort ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
2.9 out of 5 3.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 0.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 2.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Darwin Resort

Everyone (6) Couples (5) Family (2)
2 out of 5
There were no lights to see where to go when I arrived late. There was an old sign with a different resort name in it confusing me. The girl at reception was not helpful. Richard the manager and Frank were helpful. The switch was broken so light in bathroom didn’t work so couldn’t have a shower after a long trip. Milk in fridge was off. Instructions to give the taxi driver could have saved me carting 30kg of luggage 500m.

Posted by on 5 Aug. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Next time we may or may not stay in a cabin. We are both light sleepers so heard guests coming and leaving with heavy luggage almost nightly.

Posted by on 29 Jul. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Aug. 2022 by JY

Hi Beryl thank you for your recent review, as with a lot of hotels in Darwin guests arrive trough out the evening with the late/early flight arrivals. Our cabins do provide a more private location. We do hope you enjoyed your visit to Darwin.

2 out of 5

Posted by on 18 Jul. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Jul. 2022 by JY

Hi Brian Thank you for your recent, it is disappointing you made no comments for us to respond to. We do hope you enjoyed your visit to the Top End.

2 out of 5
The property was not clean. The photos online did not match the room.

Posted by on 9 Jul. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Jul. 2022 by JY

Hi Shannon Thank you for your recent review, its a shame you make no reference to which photos you don't feel match the room, as there are several room types available to guests who often book for example a budget room expecting they will receive the cabin when reviewing the room types and are disappointed with their choice. We do hope you enjoyed your visit to Darwin.

3 out of 5
Good location for getting around for what I wanted to do in Darwin Facilities were nothing like the photos, old and needs refurbishment Was there for over a week and room not cleaned or clean towels supplied the whole time Very poor lighting on the steps, very dangerous

Posted by on 6 Jul. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Jul. 2022 by JY

Hi Jenny Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your feedback and hope you enjoyed your visit to Darwin.

1 out of 5
the tiny room , no mat or carpet, was FILTHY..dirt on fan and aircon not cleaned for months...dirty shower curtain...this applies to double room on first floor.....cannot recommend at the price of $140/night..maybe the cabins are better

Posted by on 5 Jul. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Jul. 2022 by JY

Hi David Thank you for your recent review, we do offer a variety of room types to suit peoples budgets. Darwin is currently in high season there rates reflect this, due to very high demand across the city.

4 out of 5
The room was spacious with 2 kids we were lucky enough to be close to the pool. It was clean the staff were great and we had a quite spot a good size veranda for the kids to play the only thing wrong we didn’t have enough cutlery or sharp knife but I’m sure if we asked they would of provided

Posted by on 4 Jul. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Jul. 2022 by JY

Hi Kaye Thank you for your recent review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

4 out of 5
Cabin 38. Up grade outdoor furniture, paint the picket fence, fix towel rack in bathroom, make use of the space in the cabin by putting in dining suite and move couch tv around to where wardrobe, wash curtains or put up bright colourful ones that reflect the resort name and do a whole new garden makeover so it looks like a tropical resort...

Posted by on 1 Jul. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Jul. 2022 by JY

Hi Lynette Thank you for your feedback, very much appreciated and I will forward to the owners for their review. We do hope you enjoyed your stay in Darwin. Regards Darwin Resort

4 out of 5
Close to Hidden Valley. Friendly staff. Nice property. Great room.

Posted by on 25 Jun. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Jul. 2022 by JY

Hi Amanda Thank you for your recent review, we appreciate your feedback

2 out of 5
while the staff were lovely this is not what is advertised!! booked a deluxe queen room ended up in 2 bedroom donga which was an upgrade apparently !! very old outdated NO breakfast as advertised NO restaurant very poor effort but knew they didn't have to really care big weekend of motorsport limited accom avail so didn't really care that we didn't get what we had paid for or ordered as you didn't have any other options, no offer of money back or discount actually charged me more then had to wait for the refund to come back into account. TV did not work one pool was green. So disappointing when we were so excited for the first trip away in 3 years lucky we only slept there but do not expect fancy or even above average. Staff were lovely but management need to be held accountable for false advertising

Posted by on 23 Jun. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Jul. 2022 by JY

Hi Janice Thank you for your feedback. We do not advertise a restaurant for the resort. There are many options available to guests in the surrounding suburbs. We do not have dongas on site at the property. Many guests are traveling on a budget at present or looking for a bargain, we do offer a variety of room types at the property. We do hope you enjoyed your visit to the Top End.

Property Features

Darwin Resort offers its guests an outdoor pool, a library, and pool umbrellas. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. Darwin Resort also features a microwave in a common area and a refrigerator in a common area. Self parking is free. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3-star Darwin hotel.

  • 86 guestrooms or units
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Library
  • Computer for guest use
  • Smoking in designated areas
  • Microwave in a common area
  • Refrigerator in a common area

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Number of outdoor pools - 1
  • Free WiFi

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Wireless internet access

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Darwin Resort offers 86 accommodations with complimentary toiletries and ceiling fans. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Bathrooms include showers. Housekeeping is offered once per stay and irons/ironing boards can be requested. Housekeeping is provided on a limited basis.

  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (once per stay)
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ceiling fan

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday - Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
If you are planning to arrive after noon please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

This property's front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday - Friday: 9:00 AM - 4:00 PM
Guests arriving after noon must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests will receive lockbox information.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10:00 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, and debit cards. Cash is not accepted. Noise-free guestrooms cannot be guaranteed. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; periodic temperature checks are conducted on staff; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; cashless payment methods are available for all transactions. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of COVID-19 Guidelines (CDC).

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • No lifts
  • Noise-free rooms not guaranteed
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Service animals are exempt from fees/restrictions
  • Debit cards
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is not available for guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are not available
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Staff temperature checks are conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Guest accommodation is not sealed after cleaning
  • Electrostatic spray is not used for disinfection
  • Cashless transactions are available
  • Masks are not compulsory at the property
  • Contactless food service / room service is not available
  • Reservation is not required for facilities on site
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Food service not has not been amended for enhanced safety
  • Property follows sanitisation practices of COVID-19 Guidelines (CDC)
  • Property does not offer on-site COVID-19 testing
  • Property does not require health documentation at check-in

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • A damage deposit of AUD 100 will be collected before check-in.

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

Hotel Names

  • Darwin Resort Hotel
  • Darwin Resort Winnellie
  • Darwin Resort Hotel Winnellie
url importing http://www.wotif.co.nz/Darwin-Hotels-Darwin-Resort.h76473605-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Darwin-Hotels-Darwin-Resort.h76473605-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.co.nz/Darwin-Hotels-Darwin-Resort.h76473605-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&

Frequently Asked Questions

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.