Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.0 out of 5

"These motels are older, but as a previous motel owner, I found them to be spotless. The towels would be the best we have ever had in a motel, the bed ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 22 Feb 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At AAA Marlin Motel you'll be within just a 10-minute stroll of Nelson Square and Waitohi Recreational Reserve. Highlights at this motel include free in-room WiFi.

Flat-screen TVs, coffee/tea makers, and safes are featured in all 19 rooms. Refrigerators and hair dryers are also available.

This motel has free WiFi in public areas, a library, and a garden. Additionally, you'll find laundry facilities, barbecue grills, and a picnic area. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

With a stay at this Picton motel, you'll be 1.3 km (0.8 mi) from Picton Ferry Terminal.

Basic Studio, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
NZ$122* Per night/room 2 Mar. - 3 Mar.

Standard Studio, Non Smoking, Kitchen (Double Studio)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Suite, 2 Bedrooms, Non Smoking, Kitchen

Bed Count 4 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Standard Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking, Kitchen (King Apartment)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Family Suite, 1 Bedroom, Non Smoking, Kitchen (Family Unit)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Executive Suite, 2 Bedrooms, Non Smoking, Kitchen (Executive Unit)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

AAA Marlin Motel ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.0 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for AAA Marlin Motel

Everyone (19) Couples (9) Family (16)
5 out of 5
These motels are older, but as a previous motel owner, I found them to be spotless. The towels would be the best we have ever had in a motel, the bed was excellent and value for money, very hard to beat. Thank you for an excellent stay.

Posted by on 22 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Feb. 2020 by don

thank you hope to see you again one day.

5 out of 5
Property was excellent value, close to town centre. Managers shifted a person to give us a ground floor room, as wife on a walking stick. Heatpumps would help to cool units in the summer.

Posted by , from Christchurch on 19 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Feb. 2020 by don

Thank you Hope to see you again one day will look into getting some kind of cooler system into the rooms.

4 out of 5
Nice selection of sachet drinks, 2 types of tea, 2 types of coffee and hot chocolate - better than most!

Posted by on 13 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Feb. 2020 by Don

Thank you

5 out of 5
Quiet location. Well equipped room. Perfect for our stay

Posted by on 12 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Feb. 2020 by Donna

Thank you

4 out of 5
Really helpful and friendly staff, very accommodating of our turning up in the middle of the night (pre-booked) with a trailer in tow.

Posted by on 27 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Jan. 2020 by donna

thank you we hope to see you again

2 out of 5
This is a property that needs serious modernising. It has not been changed since the 70’s. there were also no pillow protectors, mattress protectors to prevent bedbugs. One pillow & one duvet inner which had no cover was stained yellow.

Posted by on 22 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Enjoyed our stay here. Friendly people. Excellent services and obvious to see dedication of owners. Lots of lovely decorative touches. Neat and tidy grounds.

Posted by on 14 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Jan. 2020 by Donna

Thank you We hope to see you again one day

2 out of 5
This property was clean although our motel room was very dated. There was no hot water on our second morning. Not great when five of us needed to have showers before we left. Wifi was poor. The third ‘twin bed’ was actually just a sofa bed. Good location. Not great value for money.

Posted by on 31 Dec. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Jan. 2020 by Donna

Hi I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with and sorry about the hot water we have just had a electrician around and a fuse had blown in the main fuse box. We are here 24/7 ,so if you had let us known we could have done something about it or just help you out . The wifi we are looking into that we thought we had it sorted but obviously not , but people not let us know we can't do anything about it , we are here to help. I hope the rest of your trip goes well. Regards

4 out of 5

Posted by on 19 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Jan. 2020 by donna

Thank you

4 out of 5
Clean and tidy and close to what we wanted to do. Disappointing that the wifi wasn’t always available.

Posted by on 2 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Nov. 2019 by Don

Thank you sorry about the wifi we are working on it.

About the AAA Marlin Motel

Location 33 Devon Street, Picton, 7372

Property Features

As a guest of AAA Marlin Motel, you'll find a library, tour/ticket assistance, and barbecue grills. WiFi is free in public spaces. AAA Marlin Motel also features a garden, a picnic area, and laundry facilities. Free self parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this Picton motel.

  • 19 guestrooms or units
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Library
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Playground on site
  • Refrigerator

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Picton (PCN) (8.5 km / 5.3 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

AAA Marlin Motel offers 19 accommodations with safes and coffee/tea makers. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. Bathrooms include showers and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Ensuite bathroom

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 10 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8 AM - 10 PM.
This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Guests arriving late won't be able to check in until the next morning.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8 AM - 10 PM.
This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. Guests arriving after hours will have to wait until the next morning to check in.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Only service animals are allowed
  • Debit cards not accepted

Hotel Names

  • AAA Marlin Motel Picton
  • AAA Marlin Motel
  • AAA Marlin Picton
  • AAA Marlin
  • AAA Marlin Motel Motel
  • AAA Marlin Motel Picton
  • AAA Marlin Motel Motel Picton

National Rating

This property does not have a Qualmark® rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

url importing https://www.wotif.co.nz/Picton-Hotels-AAA-Marlin-Motel.h9623780-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.