Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.3 out of 5

"Great proximity & access to beach. Appreciated the chilled water, fruit juice & fresh bread to start us off. Easy bus round island. Our unit was pret ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 10 Aug 2019

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Coral Sands Apartments you'll be within a 20-minute walk of Puaikura Beach and 3.2 km (2 mi) from Aroa Beach. Highlights at this beachfront property include an outdoor swimming pool and in-room kitchens.

You can enjoy a flat-screen TV with a DVD player, and each apartment features a dining area, WiFi, and free bottled water. In-room dining is easy with a kitchen that comes equipped with a refrigerator, a microwave, and a stovetop. A ceiling fan, a safe, and a hair dryer are also available. Limited housekeeping is available.

This beach apartment building offers a library, a terrace, and a garden. Other amenities include WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities. There's also the convenience of an airport shuttle.

With a stay at this 3.5-star Arorangi property, you'll be 12.3 km (7.6 mi) from Muri Beach.

Apartment, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Apartment, 1 Bedroom (for 2)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Apartment, 3 Bedrooms

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 8 Max

Coral Sands Apartments ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Coral Sands Apartments

Everyone (3) Couples (6) Family (2)
1 out of 5
Communication by host really poor . Did not realise there was no onsite manager. We’re there in middle of flooding and tropical storm and they were more concerned about a park bench that floated away than communicating with their guests on safety and finding out how we were . No one to meet us on arrival and we were left to find our room which had the wrong name on the board outside. They arrived half an hour after we got there then gave us a key that wouldn’t fit the look. By this time our luggage was in our room and we were locked out. Told the host who was onsite at the time and she drove off to go to their other accommodation and forgot about us so we were left locked out of our room for half an hour then had to ring and remind her we will still waiting to get in. Place is on the market and they were more focused on trying to sell the property to guests than making sure guests we were comfortable and looked after. They came and went at different times and seemed disinterested. The only time I hopped in the the rusty para pool for a swim the owner stopped by to clean it . Started cleaning it while I was in there and didn’t even bother to ask if it was ok so I ended up having to hop out. We had an aircon unit in our room which we werent told about usage of. If we wanted to use it had to pay $15 a day for the facility. We were only told this by another guest as there was nothing on the property information about this. I would definitely not recommend this property.

Posted by on 4 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Jan. 2020 by Eve and Brent

Thanks for your feedback - we only wish you had expressed your concerns with us while you were here so we had an opportunity to address them with you immediately. We provide each apartment with a prepaid mobile phone to ensure there is no barrier to contacting us. Below is an extract of the standard message we send to guests following a booking. We sent this to you on December the 10th and are advised by the Expedia/Wotif system that you read it the same day; Kia Orana MacDonald Thank you for booking your accommodation here with us at the Coral Sands Apartments, we look forward to meeting you in December. Once confirmed, can you please advise us of your flight details so that we can ensure we meet you on site on arrival. We can arrange airport transfers if required, these are $15 per person each way, payable in cash directly to the driver. Alternatively, you may wish to consider hiring a vehicle from the airport, if you would like some options for this please let us know. We arrived half an hour after you arrived because we could only guess what flight you were on but left the apartment unlocked for you in case we were wrong. The booking name we received was for MacDonald Robinson so that was all we had to work with. The room lock was an issue that we are taking up with the locksmith who replaced the lock while we were away earlier that week. Once Brent gave you his key that was no longer an issue for you as far as we were aware. The rusty pool clips are a disappointment to us as well. Firstly that within 18 months of installing them they have rusted, the NZ based supplier is not covering them under warranty and despite being ordered in November the replacements still have not arrived. The storm on New Years day was a first for us and came as a surprise to many on the island with how early it arrived and the ferocity of it. My priority when I first arrived was to ensure the property itself was secure as therefore the guests inside it would also be. To suggest I was more concerned with the bench that got broken up and dragged along the beach is unfair and not true. Your apartment was on the leeward side of the building and less likely to be impacted than the other apartments. I popped around the corner for a look and saw nothing out of the ordinary except for a lot of wind blown vegetation which was consistent with the rest of the property and island. With respect to the aircon below is what appears under important information on the Wotif page: Optional extras The following fees and deposits are charged by the property at time of service, check-in, or check-out. Fee for in-room wireless Internet: NZD 25 per 24-hour period (rates may vary) Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: NZD 25 per 24-hour period (rates may vary) Airport shuttle fee: NZD 15 per person (one way) Airport shuttle fee per child: NZD 15.00 (one way) Air conditioning fee: NZD 15 per night Crib (infant bed) fee: NZD 46 per week The above list may not be comprehensive. Fees

3 out of 5
Great proximity & access to beach. Appreciated the chilled water, fruit juice & fresh bread to start us off. Easy bus round island. Our unit was pretty old & tired & could have done with a good overall clean. Comfy bed.

Posted by on 10 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Aug. 2019 by Eve

Thanks for your feedback, hope you enjoyed your stay. Regards Eve

5 out of 5
Quiet, secluded and only a short step down a leafy pathway to the ocean. Beautiful. Nice pool if just want to lie in the sun. Charming, helpful hosts. Would we return to Coral Sands? You bet we will. Xx

Posted by , from Rotorua on 10 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Aug. 2019 by Eve

How lovely of you to have posted your feedback, hope to see you both back some day. Kind regards Eve & Brent

4 out of 5
Beachfront location. Toilet seat needed attention, a pack of Tissues would have been helpful

Posted by on 12 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jul. 2019 by Eve

Thanks for your feedback, and toilet seat has been fixed, our apologies for the inconvenience. Hope to see you back someday. Kind regards Eve & Brent

5 out of 5
Great smaller property well located at the beach and just a few mins by car or local bus from town. Apartment very well equipped with extras including pre-paid local phone, blender in kitchen, ample initial supplies in the kitchen (juice, bread, cereals, butter, jam, salt n pepper). Snorkel, mask and beach towel with free access to Kayak and book/DVD lending library

Posted by , from Bay of Islands NZ on 17 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 May 2019 by Eve

Thank you so much for providing this review, we really appreciate it. Hope to see you back some day. Kind regards Eve & Brent

5 out of 5
It was awesome that guest were given their own mobile fone to use for your stay to contact the hosts if you need anything and free calls & txts to any local numbers, it was really handy calling friends and family on the island

Posted by on 19 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Jan. 2019 by Eve

Thanks for your review, we do try and provide the little things that matter so everyone can enjoy our little piece of paradise. Hope to see you again some day. Kind regards Eve & Brent

4 out of 5
We had apartment around the back and found to be nice and quiet and private.

Posted by , from Hokitika on 14 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Sep. 2018 by Eve and Brent

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay and we are very glad you enjoyed it.

5 out of 5

Great alternative to resort

Pros: Genuine self contained facility
Brent and Eve are great hosts - they went out and shopped for us because were arriving on Good Friday - and were always willing to help. The location is great and the accommodation is very clean and very functional. It is a genuine self-contained set up with everything you will need to look after yourself including external laundry. Great touch with tack room full of fins, reef walkers, books, dvds, magazines etc. We will be back in August.

Posted by , from Canberra on 15 Apr. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Oct. 2018 by Eve

Thanks so much for this feedback Steve. Look forward to seeing you all again in a few months. All the best Eve & Brent

5 out of 5

Great apartments, great operators.

Had a great stay at Coral Sands. Brent and Eve went above and beyond to make our holiday exceptional. Definitely recommend.

Posted by on 9 May 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5

Great Accommodation in Lovely Location

Pros: The facility was in excellent condition, and had all conveniences I needed, and location near a lovely quiet beach.
Cons: Rooms are not cleaned while you stay, which in itself is fine, but a brush to sweep out sand that inevitably accumulates on the floor would be useful.
Location: Next to a lovely beach on the West of the island. A couple of shops, bars and restaurants within easy walking distance.
Had a wonderful week staying at Coral Sands. The apartments are well maintained and in great condition with a whole load of great facilities to use while you're there, such as barbecue, kayaks, snokels and masks, fins, beach towels, pool, and more, including use of a local cellphone... just in case... In addition the hosts are extremely helpful and accommodating. The location is right next to a lovely quiet beach which has a reef full of fish to swim, snorkel and kayak in. In addition there are a couple of small shops, bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. This is in a relatively quiet spot compared to some places in Rarotonga, but that was part of the appeal for me, and saying that, getting anywhere a bit busier is easy by catching the bus right outside the gate, or renting your own transport which is easy to do. All in all, had a great time and would definitely come and stay again.

Posted by , from NZ on 4 May 2017

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Coral Sands Apartments

Location Main Road, Rarotonga,

Property Features

As a guest of Coral Sands Apartments, you'll find an outdoor pool, a library, and a terrace. Public spaces have WiFi for a fee. An airport shuttle (available 24 hours) is available for a fee. Coral Sands Apartments also features barbecue grills, a garden, and laundry facilities. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 3.5-star Rarotonga apartment.

  • 7 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • Self-service laundry
  • Express check-in
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Library
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Separate dining area
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Transport

  • Airport: Rarotonga (RAR-Rarotonga Intl.) (6 km / 3.7 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle

Room Amenities

Coral Sands Apartments offers 7 air-conditioned accommodations with DVD players and safes. Accommodations at this 3.5-star apartment have kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, microwaves, and separate dining areas. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. This Rarotonga apartment provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. Additionally, rooms include complimentary bottled water and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is provided on a limited basis.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Dining room
  • Flat-screen television
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Kitchenware
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (limited)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Air conditioning
  • Ceiling fan

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 5 AM

Special check-in instructions:

There is no front desk at this property. To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 72 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property for check-in instructions.

This property does not have a front desk. To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 72 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property for check-in instructions.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for NZD 40.0 per week.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. No onsite parking is available. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and window guards in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.The property is professionally cleaned, and disinfectant is used to clean the property.Contactless check-out is available.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No lifts
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Property uses a professional cleaning service
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: NZD 25 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: NZD 25 per 24-hour period (rates may vary)
  • Airport shuttle fee: NZD 15 per person (one way)
  • Airport shuttle fee per child: NZD 15.00 (one way)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Air conditioning fee: NZD 15 per night
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: NZD 40.0 per week

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Coral Sands Apartments Apartment Rarotonga
  • Coral Sands Apartments Apartment
  • Coral Sands Apartments Rarotonga
  • Coral Sands Apartments
  • Coral Sands Apartments Apartment
  • Coral Sands Apartments Rarotonga
  • Coral Sands Apartments Apartment Rarotonga
url importing http://www.wotif.co.nz/Rarotonga-Hotels-Coral-Sands-Apartments.h7260801-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Rarotonga-Hotels-Coral-Sands-Apartments.h7260801-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.co.nz/Rarotonga-Hotels-Coral-Sands-Apartments.h7260801-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.