Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.5 out of 5

"Loved the room, hot tub, spa bath. Went for dinner and were incredibly disappointed. Met two friends who had arrived at the restaurant before us. They ... " More

By a verified traveller on Mon 23 Mar 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A luxury stay in Hanmer Springs awaits you at Braemar Lodge And Spa. You'll be steps from Mount Cookson and 3.7 km (2.3 mi) from Waiau Ferry Bridge. Highlights at this romantic hotel include a full-service spa, a restaurant, and free self parking.

Flat-screen TVs with digital channels are featured in all 24 soundproofed rooms, and you can enjoy free WiFi, patios, and sitting areas. Dining in is an option with room service, and minibars provide refreshments. Select Comfort beds and premium bedding welcome you to a good night's rest, and other nice touches include jetted tubs and bathrobes. Separate bathtubs and showers, coffee/tea makers, and in-room massages are also available.

A relaxing day at Spa Braemar can include deep-tissue massages, body scrubs, and facials along with aromatherapy and mani/pedis. The fine-dining restaurant, Altitude Restaurant, serves Modern European cuisine and is open for breakfast and dinner. The hotel's own bar/lounge is a nice place to enjoy a drink. Enjoy access to bike rentals, mountain biking, and hiking/biking trails. Additionally, you'll find free WiFi in public areas, a conference center, and a coffee shop/café. Each morning cooked-to-order breakfast is served between 8:30 AM and 10:30 AM. There's also the convenience of an airport shuttle.

Places within a 15-minute drive of this 4.5-star Hanmer Springs hotel include Conical Hill Walkway and Hanmer Springs Thermal Reserve.

Superior Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
NZ$216* Per night/room 1 Jun. - 2 Jun.

Accessible Spa Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Deluxe Spa Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Spa Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Braemar Lodge And Spa ratings based on 130 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.5 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Braemar Lodge And Spa

Everyone (62) Couples (59) Family (8)
5 out of 5
Loved the room, hot tub, spa bath. Went for dinner and were incredibly disappointed. Met two friends who had arrived at the restaurant before us. They had gone there for dinner at a pm and were waiting until 8:40. We arrived at 8:20 aand waited until 8:45 for a bottle of wine. Our friends mushroom soup arrived around 9pm which was a little awkward. Our pre-dinnet bread rolls did not arrive until around half qn hour after that. The mains for both parties suprisingly came out at the same time -despite the different ordering times. Again, over an hour and an hour and a halr before the were served. These rooms were lovely - however 5he service is terrible, and i am still waiting to hear about a Swarovski earring that whould have been found when cleaning. Again, the rooms are great but be careful as there are many stairs to focus on and the lights are a bit unreliable. Apologies for the review, however dinner was unacceptable.

Posted by on 23 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Apr. 2020 by Lodge Manager

Hello Anonymous, Thank you staying with us and for taking the time and writing to us. We are glad to read that you loved your room and its features. I will take your feedback to my team and investigate what went wrong. With regards to your earring, we have not found any, will give it another look once the lock down is done. Kind Regards

5 out of 5
I really liked the stay, I loved the out door hot tub, bed was unreal and staff were very nice

Posted by on 9 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Mar. 2020 by Lodge Manager

Hello Anonymous, Thank you for staying with us and for this wonderful feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our services and facilities. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards,

3 out of 5
Some more attention to detail is required when cleaning. The patio area wasn't cleaned from previous visitors. The bathroom sinks plugs were broken. One couldnt open and one wouldnt close. There was a water leak behind the toilet and the shower caused water pooling at the bathroom door. Due to minimal staffing at this time of year i was unable to get a response when calling for room service. Overall a disappointing experience. Fwlt like a 4* experience

Posted by on 3 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Mar. 2020 by Lodge Manager

Hello Anonymous, Thank you for staying with us and for giving us your valuable feedback. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused and have taken it up with the concerned departments for immediate action. I will brief the team again on what service we aim to provide.

5 out of 5

Posted by on 23 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Feb. 2020 by Lodge Manager

Hello Anonymous, Thank you for staying with us and for this 5 star rating. We hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again

5 out of 5

Posted by on 20 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Feb. 2020 by Lodge Manager

Hello Anonymous, Thank you for staying with us and for this 5 star rating. We hope you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again

5 out of 5

Posted by on 17 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Jan. 2020 by Lodge Manager

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for your wonderful rating. Kind Regards.

4 out of 5
I loved the spacious room with beautiful view. But I think flowers everywhere should be raw. And toilet could be more clean. The spa was not clean enough when we tried jets. All the dust came out.

Posted by on 13 Dec. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Dec. 2019 by Lodge Manager

Hi YaK, Thank you for giving us your rating and feedback. We are glad you loved your room. I sincerely apologize for the issues you have had to face during your stay. I have taken up all your concerns with the concerned department and will have this looked into and rectified. Thank you for bringing it to my notice. We hope to welcome you in the future.

4 out of 5
Fantastic rooms, comfortable bed, large well equipped bathrooms, superb views. Breakfast service big disappointment. Waited aged to be seated and then sat ourselves. Only one member of staff dealing with breakfast, pleasant but not efficient, seemed to be floundering with workload. Long waits. When asked at check out how things were we mentioned the poor breakfast service but the response was a rote, sorry we will look into it but said in a way which gave us no confidence that was the case or that it was a genuine apology with interest to improve.

Posted by on 3 Dec. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Dec. 2019 by Lodge Manager

Hi Anonymous, Thank you for your feedback. I'm glad you were pleased with your room. I sincerely apologize about the poor restaurant service. Guests are meant to be seated as soon as possible and not made to wait at the desk. I will take this up with the concerned departments and ensure this does not happen again. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. We hope to welcome you in the future. Kind Regards, Lodge Manager

4 out of 5

Posted by on 24 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Nov. 2019 by Lodge Manager

Hello, Thank you for rating us. Kind Regards, Lodge Manager

4 out of 5
The rooms are huge, and we loved the outlook onto green space. A very relaxing setting with birds and nature sounds, which was lovely to enjoy while sitting in the spa. The bed was quite uncomfortable as it has a big dip in it, possible needs a new mattress. Thoroughly enjoyable stay overall.

Posted by on 7 Nov. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Nov. 2019 by Lodge Manager

Hello NIxon, Thank you for your wonderful comments and thank you for highlighting about the bed. We constantly work on feedback such as this in order to provide good customer service. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards, Lodge Manager

About the Braemar Lodge And Spa

Location 283 Medway Road, Hanmer Springs, 7360

Property Features

Braemar Lodge And Spa offers its guests a full-service spa. There's a restaurant on site, as well as a coffee shop/café. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Public spaces have free WiFi. Event space at this hotel measures 1076 square feet (100 square meters) and includes a conference center. A library, a terrace, and tour/ticket assistance are also featured at the luxury Braemar Lodge And Spa. An area shuttle within 10 km and an airport shuttle (available 24 hours) are available for a fee. Self parking is free. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4.5-star Hanmer Springs hotel.

  • 1 building
  • 24 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 1076 sq ft of conference space
  • 100 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 2008
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Conference center
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Library
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Christchurch (CHC-Christchurch Intl.) (128.2 km / 79.6 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle, area shuttle within 10 km, and ski shuttle available for a surcharge
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Braemar Lodge And Spa offers 24 accommodations with minibars and safes. Rooms open to patios. Accommodations offer separate sitting areas. Select Comfort beds feature premium bedding. Flat-screen televisions come with premium digital channels. Bathrooms include separate bathtubs and showers with jetted bathtubs, bathrobes, slippers, and designer toiletries. This Hanmer Springs hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and hair dryers. Housekeeping is offered daily and in-room massages can be requested.

  • Private patio
  • Sitting area
  • Select Comfort beds
  • Jetted tub
  • Minibar
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Digital channels
  • Premium channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Luxury bedding
  • Separate shower and tub
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Massage in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Slippers
  • Designer toiletries
  • Bidet
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 8:30 AM to 10:30 AM.

Altitude Restaurant - Overlooking the garden, this fine-dining restaurant specializes in Modern European cuisine and serves breakfast and dinner. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). Reservations are required.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Spa Services

  • Hot stone massage
  • Deep tissue massage
  • Swedish massage
  • Sauna in spa
  • Number of treatment rooms 2
  • Couples treatment rooms
  • Manicures and pedicures
  • Body treatments
  • Body scrubs
  • Facial treatments
  • Aromatherapy treatments
  • Massages

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 4:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 6:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM.
To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. If you are planning to arrive after 6:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

24-hour airport shuttle service is available on request. Fees may apply. Contact the property in advance to make arrangements.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM.
To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests arriving after 6:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Airport transportation is offered on request 24 hours a day. Fees may apply. Please make arrangements in advance by contacting the property.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for NZD 60.0 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for NZD 25.0 per day.

Pet Policy

  • Pets: NZD 60 per pet, per day
  • Pets cannot be left unattended
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • UnionPay
  • Staffed front desk
  • Pets cannot be left unattended
  • Debit cards

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for cooked-to-order breakfast: NZD 25 per person (approximately)
  • Airport shuttle fee: NZD 200 per vehicle (one way)
  • Pet fee: NZD 60 per pet, per day
  • Early check-in is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability, amount varies)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: NZD 25.0 per day
  • Rollaway bed fee: NZD 60.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Braemar Lodge Hanmer Springs
  • Select Braemar
  • Select Braemar Hanmer Springs
  • Select Braemar Lodge
  • Select Braemar Lodge Hanmer Springs
  • Select Braemar Hotel Hanmer Springs
  • Select Braemar Lodge And Spa
  • Braemar Hanmer Springs
  • Select Braemar Lodge Spa
  • Braemar Lodge
  • Braemar Lodge Spa
  • Braemar Lodge Spa
  • Braemar Lodge And Spa Hotel
  • Braemar Lodge And Spa Hanmer Springs
  • Braemar Lodge And Spa Hotel Hanmer Springs

You should know

  • Braemar Lodge And Spa offers transfers from the airport (fees may apply). Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.
  • Reservations are needed for massage services and spa treatments. For reservations, contact the hotel before arrival using the contact information on the booking confirmation.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • To make arrangements to bring your pet, contact the property directly at the number on your booking confirmation (please see the Fees section for related charges).

National Rating

Qualmark® assigns an official star rating for accommodations in New Zealand. This Hotel property is rated 4 star plus and is displayed on this page as 4.5 stars.

Official New Zealand Rating provided by Qualmark®

url importing http://www.wotif.co.nz/Hanmer-Springs-Hotels-Braemar-Lodge-And-Spa.h2193285-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Hanmer-Springs-Hotels-Braemar-Lodge-And-Spa.h2193285-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.co.nz/Hanmer-Springs-Hotels-Braemar-Lodge-And-Spa.h2193285-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.