Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.4 out of 5

"Appeared to be only ones there on night of stay. Room clean but dated. Staff had turned on heating in room prior to arriving as chilly, nice touch. " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 08 Sep 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At The Mill House, you'll be 1.7 km (1 mi) from Hampden Beach and 11.6 km (7.2 mi) from Moeraki Boulders. Highlights at this guest house include free self parking and a bar/lounge.

Free WiFi, flat-screen TVs, and hair dryers are featured in all 9 rooms.

This guest house has free WiFi in public areas, a terrace, and a garden. Other amenities include barbecue grills, a picnic area, and luggage storage.

Sights within a 20-minute drive of this 3-star Herbert guest house include Totara Estate and Moeraki Lighthouse.

Family Suite

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Studio

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Large Studio

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Standard Queen Room

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

The Mill House ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.4 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 5.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for The Mill House

Everyone (9) Couples (1)
3 out of 5
Appeared to be only ones there on night of stay. Room clean but dated. Staff had turned on heating in room prior to arriving as chilly, nice touch.

Posted by , from Wellington on 8 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Oct. 2018 by The Mill House

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We had many other guests the night of your stay. We are a little confused to the mention of "dated", as the room you stayed in had a new bathroom, tv, kitchette, just top name a few things

5 out of 5
A quiet hotel in a picturesque spot in the nz countryside Helpful staff and a comfotable spacious room with microwave and simple kitchen equipmentwpuld recomnend youvstop here on your travels on the sth Is

Posted by , from portarlington vic australia on 20 May 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

1 Jun. 2018 by The Mill House

It was a pleasure to host you Joy. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in the south island

5 out of 5

Excellent facilities, host was very helpful.

Pros: Clean and comfortable
Cons: not a lot
Location: stayed one night.
This was an excellent stay. The host was very helpful, and happy to talk. The venue would be lovely for a wedding, especially in summer when the garden is in full bloom.

Posted by on 15 May 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 May 2018 by The Mill House

Thanks for taking the time to post your review

5 out of 5
Has extremly beautiful garden. We were so glad to choose this place. Room is clean and big. Seperate toilet and shower.

Posted by on 28 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Mar. 2018 by The Mill House

Thanks for taking your time to post your review. It was our pleasure to host you for your stay

5 out of 5

Motel unit in beautiful garden

Cons: Maybe a sink in the kitchen area
Location: Nothing within walking distance. Bar and restaurant in next town.
Historic old stone built mill in an amazing garden setting on a river bank. A profusion of flowers, shrubs and trees If you're a gardener you'll love it. Our host, Malcolm, regaled us with the story of the mill and the unique skewed arch bridge beside it. The unit in the garden was equipped with everything we could need and the bed was the most comfortable of any we had slept in so far in New Zealand. Thanks Malcolm

Posted by , from UK on 11 Dec. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Dec. 2017 by The Mill House

Hi Heather Thanks for taking the time to post your review. It was our pleasure to host you for your stay.

4 out of 5
Very nice place, suggest youu visit Vanessa's Country Cafe in Hampden for breakfast

Posted by on 16 Apr. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Apr. 2017 by The Mill House

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We also enjoy Vanessa's for breakfast when we get the chance

4 out of 5

unusual place

Pros: Nice gardens.
Cons: Advertising on net comes up under Oamaru, but not until you book does it tell you that it is 30 odd kilometres south near Herbert.
Location: Pub at Herbert was friendly and food ok.
Booked online. Thought we were going to stay in nice old three storey "Mill House". Bit disappointed when accommodation was 100 meters away in much more modern unit. Even though unit was substantial distance from main south highway and parallel train line, noise penetrated the room which kept my wife awake. Asked owner about noise before we stayed and he said they were used to it, not a worry. Bed was huge but not comfortable.Total lack of hanging space, not even a towel rail in bathroom.

Posted by , from Gold Coast on 24 Mar. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 Mar. 2017 by The Mill House

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback. All the relevant information is clear to the booking site. Also on the booking site is a map which clearly shows our location. On check in you were aware of the room you had booked as you had chosen a ground floor unit studio room, which was suitable for your wife.

4 out of 5

Interesting place and lovely gardens.

Good stay in lovely surroundings. Good luck to the owners to complete their prolject of renovating the property.

Posted by , from katikati on 11 Feb. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Feb. 2017 by The Mill House

Thanks for taking the time to post your review and feedback. It was a pleasure to host you.

5 out of 5
Super comfortable, beautiful, spacious, clean and great value. Really enjoyed our time at the Mill house, lovely owner was very helpful too. Definitely will be back!

Posted by on 4 Oct. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Nov. 2016 by Malcolm

Thanks for your review. We look forward to hosting you in the future

4 out of 5
Great place to stay if passing thru. was a real pleasant surprise. Thank you.

Posted by on 27 Apr. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Nov. 2016 by Malcolm

Thanks for your feedback. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your vacation

Property Features

The Mill House offers its guests a terrace, barbecue grills, and a garden. Public spaces have free WiFi. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Free self parking is available.

  • 9 guestrooms or units
  • 2 buildings
  • Built in 1879
  • Bar or lounge
  • 1 conference room
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

The Mill House offers 9 accommodations with hair dryers and complimentary toiletries. Flat-screen televisions are featured in guestrooms. Bathrooms include showers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Housekeeping is offered daily and irons/ironing boards can be requested.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board available
  • Heating
  • Ensuite bathroom

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 8 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8 AM - 8 PM. This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8 AM - 8 PM.
This property doesn't offer after-hours check-in. To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. This property accepts credit cards.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Service animals are allowed
  • Staffed front desk

Hotel Names

  • Mill House Herbert
  • Mill House Guesthouse Herbert
  • The Mill House Herbert
  • The Mill House Guesthouse
  • The Mill House Guesthouse Herbert

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.

National Rating

This property does not have a Qualmark® rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

url importing http://www.wotif.co.nz/Herbert-Hotels-The-Mill-House.h12851308-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Herbert-Hotels-The-Mill-House.h12851308-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.co.nz/Herbert-Hotels-The-Mill-House.h12851308-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.