Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.1 out of 5

"it was like a little village with little houses …. very suitable for our needs " More

By a verified traveller on Wed 08 Jan 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Anchor Motel you'll be within just a 15-minute stroll of Caroline Bay Beach and Aigantighe Art Gallery. Highlights at this hostel include free in-room WiFi.

You can enjoy flat-screen TVs and hair dryers, featured in all 10 rooms. Refrigerators and microwaves make in-room dining convenient.

This business-friendly hostel offers free WiFi in public areas, barbecue grills, and tour/ticket assistance. Added amenities include laundry facilities and luggage storage. Each morning continental breakfast is served between 7 AM and 10 AM. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

With a stay at this Timaru hostel, you'll be 1.4 km (0.9 mi) from South Canterbury Museum and 3.4 km (2.1 mi) from Botanical Gardens.

Standard Studio

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
NZ$82* Per night/room 16 Jul. - 17 Jul.

Superior Two Bedroom Apartment

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Two Bedroom Apartment

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

One Bedroom Unit - Sleeps 3

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

One Bedroom Unit - Sleeps 5

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

King Studio

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Anchor Motel ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.1 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Anchor Motel

Everyone (25) Couples (6) Family (20)
5 out of 5
it was like a little village with little houses …. very suitable for our needs

Posted by on 8 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Jan. 2020 by Yves

Thanks for your great rating

3 out of 5

Posted by on 21 Oct. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Dec. 2019 by Yves

Thank you for your review

4 out of 5
Great location, close to town, easy to find, neat and tidy room, great host, but we could not get the electic blanket to work and it was a realy cold night. That was the only thing.

Posted by on 14 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Aug. 2019 by Yves

Hi, thanks you for your review. It's a shame you didn't leave your name so we know which unit you stayed in. We will check the electric blankets in all units to find the faulty one. Also, next time, please come to the office to let us know if something is not working, it happens, so we can get it right for you

4 out of 5

Posted by on 1 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Aug. 2019 by Yves

Thank you for your rating

5 out of 5
Staff brilliant! Helpful genuine & caring. Comfortable warm essential facilities provided appropriate value for money.

Posted by on 8 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 May 2019 by Yves

Thanks for your awesome review, we're thrilled you loved your stay

4 out of 5
Did not like the traffic noise and one or two of the steps on way to our room were wobbly . However the rooms were spacious and clean and they allowed mum to have a small dog which we really appreciated. Had kitchen facilities if needed.

Posted by on 18 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Feb. 2019 by Yves

Thank you for your review

4 out of 5
Easy to find for a mid-journey stop. Dated decor but nice and clean.

Posted by on 25 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Sep. 2018 by Yves

Thanks Henry for your review, we appreciate your comments

4 out of 5
Perfect central spot for us, easy to get around from and landmark to avoid getting lost. Very tidy rooms. Will stay here again.

Posted by , from Invercargill on 14 Sep. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Sep. 2018 by Yves

Thanks for your great review Sarah, we're happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again. Maybe next time you can give us 5 stars : )

3 out of 5

Simple and ok for one night

Simple and ok, but it was not very comfortable. Staff was friendly and gave tipps.

Posted by on 17 Jun. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Jun. 2018 by Yves

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, since you didn't leave your name, we don't know which room you stayed in. It would have been good to know so we can address your complaint about "comfort"

4 out of 5

Friendly staff, simple and clean. Good location.

Travelled for a sports trip. Great spot. Room was clean, kitchen had what was needed, off street parking, friendly and accommodating staff.

Posted by , from Christchurch, N.Z. on 26 Feb. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?

Property Features

Anchor Motel offers its guests tour/ticket assistance, barbecue grills, and laundry facilities. Public spaces have free WiFi. Free self parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this Timaru hostel.

  • 10 guestrooms or units
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Tour and ticket information
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Christchurch Intl. Airport (CHC) (158.6 km / 98.5 mi)
  • Train station: Timaru Station (1.7 km / 1.1 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Anchor Motel offers 10 accommodations with hair dryers and complimentary toiletries. Refrigerators and microwaves are provided. Bathrooms include showers. This Timaru hostel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. 32-inch flat-screen televisions come with satellite channels. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Electric kettle
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Blackout drapes
  • Heating
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy continental breakfast daily from 7 AM to 10 AM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 9:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM. If you are planning to arrive after 9:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8:00 AM - 9:00 PM.
Guests arriving after 9:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.

Pet Policy

  • Pets are welcome and stay free
  • Restrictions apply
  • For more information, you can reach out to the property at the number on the booking confirmation

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. Guests must contact this property in advance to reserve cribs/infant beds.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No lifts
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Pets allowed (no fees)
  • Staffed front desk

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for continental breakfast: NZD 13 for adults and NZD 13 for children (approximately)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Anchor Motel Timaru
  • Anchor Timaru
  • Anchor Motel Hostel Timaru
  • Anchor Motel Timaru
  • Anchor Timaru
  • Hostel/Backpacker accommodation Anchor Motel Timaru
  • Timaru Anchor Motel Hostel/Backpacker accommodation
  • Hostel/Backpacker accommodation Anchor Motel
  • Anchor Motel Timaru
  • Anchor Motel Hostel
  • Anchor Motel
  • Anchor
  • Anchor Motel Timaru
  • Anchor Motel Hostel/Backpacker accommodation
  • Anchor Motel Hostel/Backpacker accommodation Timaru

You should know

  • To make arrangements for your pet, contact the property directly using the information on your booking confirmation.

National Rating

This property does not have a Qualmark® rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

url importing http://www.wotif.co.nz/Timaru-Hotels-Anchor-Motel-.h5074136-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Timaru-Hotels-Anchor-Motel-.h5074136-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.co.nz/Timaru-Hotels-Anchor-Motel-.h5074136-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.