Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.4 out of 5

"The hallway between the room and the main hallway smelt extremely bad, the TV is small and half the programme was off the screen, one of the bed side ... " More

By a verified traveller on Wed 25 Nov 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Quality Suites Central Square places you in the center of Palmerston North, connected to a shopping center and within a short 5-minute stroll of The Square and City Library. Highlights at this hotel include in-room kitchenettes and free WiFi.

Flat-screen TVs with satellite channels are featured in all 40 soundproofed rooms, and you can enjoy DVD players, coffee/tea makers, and fans. Room service is available and kitchenettes come with refrigerators, microwaves, and stovetops, so in-room dining is easy. Hair dryers, phones, and irons/ironing boards are also available.

This business-friendly hotel offers free WiFi in public areas, a fitness center, and has express check-in. Additionally, you'll find laundry facilities, express check-out, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Each morning cooked-to-order breakfast is served between 7 AM and 9 AM. There's also the convenience of self parking.

Sights within a 15-minute walk of this Palmerston North hotel include Te Manawa and New Zealand Rugby Museum.

Standard Room, 2 Single Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
NZ$102* Per night/room 8 Aug. - 9 Aug.

Room, 1 Queen Bed, Accessible, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Suite, Multiple Beds, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 King Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Suite, 1 King Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Suite, 1 Queen Bed, Non Smoking

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Quality Suites Central Square ratings based on 275 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.4 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Quality Suites Central Square

Everyone (154) Couples (84) Business (4) Family (37)
5 out of 5

Posted by on 25 Mar. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
1 out of 5

Posted by on 30 Dec. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
The hallway between the room and the main hallway smelt extremely bad, the TV is small and half the programme was off the screen, one of the bed side limps didn't work, neither did the remote for the TV and the plug for the washing basin didn't fit. There were no instructions as to how to use the heat pump, what channels the TV has and the wifi is a joke, 512MB for 24 hours.

Posted by on 25 Nov. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
Overall it was ok. The bed was very hard and the pillows even harder...take your own! The shower water pressure was great. The car parking was a joke. Don't bother. The car parks are in twos with concrete walls on either side and if you park your car next to the car beside you, you will need to stagger the front of your car with the mid point of the other car then both drivers will need to climb from their front seats through to the back seats and out the back door. Not ideal.

Posted by on 4 Oct. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 Oct. 2020 by Nicolas

Dear guest, we're sorry that we did not fulfill your expectation in term of comfort and parking. We will continue to work harder to improve and meet our guests expectation. However, thank you for your feedback.

4 out of 5
Friendly staff and tidy rooms. TV reception is a bit hit and miss and no guide to know when things are on. With no gym onsite you can use Jetts down the road - but only if its a staffed day at Jetts, so some days out of luck. Really close to everything you would need for your stay.

Posted by on 8 Sep. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Sep. 2020 by Adrian

Dear guest, Thank You for your staying with us, we hope we will see you again in the future. We are in the process to change the TV's.

2 out of 5
Nobody to meet you on arrival. There was a sign to say to use the intercom, but there wasn't one. Phoned to get directions to find the lockbox around the corner. Parking was shocking. I believe they are relocating, so that will be much better in the future

Posted by , from Papamoa on 15 Jul. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Sep. 2020 by Adrian

Hi Ange, Thank you for staying with us at central Square Hotel. The Intercom it is on the right hand side and it was there in the last 12 years. In regards the car park, our building do have a valid and actual Warrant of Fitness so the car park spaces and the access are due to standards and regulations. We hope these will not alter your willingness to stay with us again.

5 out of 5
I loved the space & all that came with. Having dishwasher ect.. beautiful living space

Posted by on 17 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The property was so smart and we had a lovely outlook over the square. The only negative was the bed it was very hard and uncomfortable.

Posted by on 1 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Feb. 2020 by Manager

Hi Cheryl, Many thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you didn't have a comfortable sleep. Unfortunately bed firmness is a personal preference, however we do have a number of softer mattresses and will make note of this for future bookings. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards,

3 out of 5
No Free Wi Fi No Coffee Machine Bed was uncomfortable

Posted by , from Brisbane on 13 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Feb. 2020 by Manager

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We have complimentary WIFI available in the rooms. Vouchers can be obtained from reception. Unfortunately we do not have coffee machines in the rooms, however we do have tea and coffee making facilities. Coffee plungers can also be supplied upon request. If you wish to book in the future, please contact us directly so we can ensure we are able to meet your needs. Kind regards.

3 out of 5
Our last 2 visits, we have felt the standard of cleaning had gone down. Bathroom has always been very clean BUT saw dust around TV area and last visit toe - nails on bedroom floor. Did not feel room had been vacuumed !!!!! have filled out feed back form in room and on line and not heard back yet. If this minor but HORRIBLE problem was sorted then I would still recommend staying here.

Posted by on 12 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Feb. 2020 by manager

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the room wasn't up to standard. We wish you had contacted us upon check in so we could have rectified this. We have 24hour on call staff to assist with all our guests needs. The feedback we have received as been responded directly to and addressed this with our housekeeping staff. We hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards,

Property Features

As a guest of Quality Suites Central Square, you'll find a fitness center, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and laundry facilities. WiFi is free in public spaces. The business-friendly Quality Suites Central Square also features dry cleaning/laundry services, express check-in, and room service (during limited hours). Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This 3-star Palmerston North hotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 40 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Built in 2008
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Soundproofed rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Long-term parking (surcharge) , Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Parking: Self parking and extended parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Quality Suites Central Square offers 40 air-conditioned accommodations with DVD players and coffee/tea makers. Flat-screen televisions come with satellite channels. Accommodations at this 3-star hotel have kitchenettes with refrigerators, stovetops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Palmerston North hotel provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and fans. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • In-room kitchenette
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Shower
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Air conditioning
  • Fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 7 AM to 9 AM.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness center.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at midnight

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8 AM - 7 PM. The check-in location differs from the property location. To check in, go to Intercom located to right of front door - 1900-0800 hours To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 72 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8 AM - 7 PM.
The check-in location differs from the property location. To check in, guests will need to go to Intercom located to right of front door - 1900-0800 hours
To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 72 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for NZD 35.0 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

This property accepts credit cards. Cash is not accepted. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. The property is professionally cleaned; disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available. This property affirms that it adheres to the cleaning and disinfection practices of Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global).

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property uses a professional cleaning service
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property follows sanitisation practices of Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global)

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between NZD 15 and NZD 25 per person (approximately)
  • Self parking fee: NZD 15 per night
  • Extended parking fee: NZD 15 per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: NZD 35.0 per night
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 3.5 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Palmerston North Quest
  • Quest Hotel Palmerston North
  • Quest Palmerston North
  • Quest Palmerston North Aparthotel
  • Quest Palmerston Aparthotel
  • Central Square Hotel
  • Quest Palmerston North
  • Quality Suites Central Square Hotel
  • Quality Suites Central Square Palmerston North
  • Quality Suites Central Square Hotel Palmerston North

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.

National Rating

This property does not have a Qualmark® rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

url importing http://www.wotif.co.nz/Palmerston-North-Hotels-Quality-Suites-Central-Square.h2130288-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Palmerston-North-Hotels-Quality-Suites-Central-Square.h2130288-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.co.nz/Palmerston-North-Hotels-Quality-Suites-Central-Square.h2130288-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.