Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.4 out of 5

"Overall it was ok. The bed was very hard and the pillows even harder...take your own! The shower water pressure was great. The car parking was a joke ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 04 Oct 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Central Square Hotel places you in the center of Palmerston North, connected to a shopping center and within a short 5-minute stroll of The Square and City Library. Highlights at this luxury aparthotel include in-room kitchenettes.

You can enjoy a flat-screen TV with satellite channels, and each apartment features WiFi, a DVD player, and a coffee/tea maker. A kitchenette comes equipped with a refrigerator, a microwave, and a stovetop, and room service is also available. A fan, a hair dryer, and a phone are also available.

This business-friendly aparthotel offers a fitness center, express check-in, and express check-out. Additionally, you'll find WiFi in public areas and laundry facilities. Each morning cooked-to-order breakfast is served between 7 AM and 9 AM. There's also the convenience of self parking.

With a stay at this 4.5-star Palmerston North aparthotel, you'll be 3.5 km (2.2 mi) from Massey University.

Studio Apartment

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

One Bedroom Apartment

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

One Bedroom with Bath

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

2 Bedroom Interconnecting

Bed Count 2 King Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Central Square Hotel ratings based on 284 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.4 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Central Square Hotel

Everyone (157) Couples (88) Business (4) Family (40)
3 out of 5
Overall it was ok. The bed was very hard and the pillows even harder...take your own! The shower water pressure was great. The car parking was a joke. Don't bother. The car parks are in twos with concrete walls on either side and if you park your car next to the car beside you, you will need to stagger the front of your car with the mid point of the other car then both drivers will need to climb from their front seats through to the back seats and out the back door. Not ideal.

Posted by on 4 Oct. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

28 Oct. 2020 by Nicolas

Dear guest, we're sorry that we did not fulfill your expectation in term of comfort and parking. We will continue to work harder to improve and meet our guests expectation. However, thank you for your feedback.

4 out of 5
Friendly staff and tidy rooms. TV reception is a bit hit and miss and no guide to know when things are on. With no gym onsite you can use Jetts down the road - but only if its a staffed day at Jetts, so some days out of luck. Really close to everything you would need for your stay.

Posted by on 8 Sep. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Sep. 2020 by Adrian

Dear guest, Thank You for your staying with us, we hope we will see you again in the future. We are in the process to change the TV's.

2 out of 5
Nobody to meet you on arrival. There was a sign to say to use the intercom, but there wasn't one. Phoned to get directions to find the lockbox around the corner. Parking was shocking. I believe they are relocating, so that will be much better in the future

Posted by , from Papamoa on 15 Jul. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Sep. 2020 by Adrian

Hi Ange, Thank you for staying with us at central Square Hotel. The Intercom it is on the right hand side and it was there in the last 12 years. In regards the car park, our building do have a valid and actual Warrant of Fitness so the car park spaces and the access are due to standards and regulations. We hope these will not alter your willingness to stay with us again.

5 out of 5
I loved the space & all that came with. Having dishwasher ect.. beautiful living space

Posted by on 17 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The property was so smart and we had a lovely outlook over the square. The only negative was the bed it was very hard and uncomfortable.

Posted by on 1 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Feb. 2020 by Manager

Hi Cheryl, Many thanks for your feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry you didn't have a comfortable sleep. Unfortunately bed firmness is a personal preference, however we do have a number of softer mattresses and will make note of this for future bookings. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards,

3 out of 5
No Free Wi Fi No Coffee Machine Bed was uncomfortable

Posted by , from Brisbane on 13 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Feb. 2020 by Manager

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We have complimentary WIFI available in the rooms. Vouchers can be obtained from reception. Unfortunately we do not have coffee machines in the rooms, however we do have tea and coffee making facilities. Coffee plungers can also be supplied upon request. If you wish to book in the future, please contact us directly so we can ensure we are able to meet your needs. Kind regards.

3 out of 5
Our last 2 visits, we have felt the standard of cleaning had gone down. Bathroom has always been very clean BUT saw dust around TV area and last visit toe - nails on bedroom floor. Did not feel room had been vacuumed !!!!! have filled out feed back form in room and on line and not heard back yet. If this minor but HORRIBLE problem was sorted then I would still recommend staying here.

Posted by on 12 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 Feb. 2020 by manager

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the room wasn't up to standard. We wish you had contacted us upon check in so we could have rectified this. We have 24hour on call staff to assist with all our guests needs. The feedback we have received as been responded directly to and addressed this with our housekeeping staff. We hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future. Kind regards,

2 out of 5
Close to the centre of town. Poor parking. Hard beds Bad reception on tv Unwelcoming front deck staff

Posted by on 3 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5

Posted by on 19 Dec. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Dec. 2019 by manager

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards,

5 out of 5

Posted by on 17 Dec. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Dec. 2019 by Manager

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards,

Property Features

As a guest of Central Square Hotel, you'll find a fitness center, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and laundry facilities. Public spaces have WiFi for a fee. The luxury Central Square Hotel also features dry cleaning/laundry services, express check-in, and room service (during limited hours). Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This 4.5-star Palmerston North aparthotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 40 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • Built in 2008
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • ATM
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Kitchenette
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Long-term parking (surcharge) , Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Airport: Palmerston North (PMR-Palmerston North Intl.) (6.2 km / 3.9 mi)
  • Parking: Self parking and extended parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Central Square Hotel offers 40 air-conditioned accommodations with DVD players and coffee/tea makers. Flat-screen televisions come with satellite channels. Accommodations at this 4.5-star aparthotel have kitchenettes with refrigerators, stovetops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. This Palmerston North aparthotel provides wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones. Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and fans. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • In-room kitchenette
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Flat-screen television
  • Satellite channels
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Air conditioning
  • Fan
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 7 AM to 9 AM.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the aparthotel include a fitness center.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at midnight

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8 AM - 7 PM. The check-in location differs from the property location. To check in, go to Intercom located to right of front door - 1900-0800 hours To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 72 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in instructions. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8 AM - 7 PM.
The check-in location differs from the property location. To check in, guests will need to go to Intercom located to right of front door - 1900-0800 hours
To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 72 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property in advance for check-in information. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for NZD 35.00 per night.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. For guests' safety, the property includes a fire extinguisher, a smoke detector, and a first aid kit in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.The property is professionally cleaned; disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F.Contactless check-in and contactless check-out are available.The property affirms that it adheres to the Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global) sanitization guidelines.

  • Debit cards not accepted
  • Staffed front desk
  • Property uses a professional cleaning service
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Contactless check-in is available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property follows sanitisation practices of Intertek Cristal (3rd party expert - Global)

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between NZD 15 and NZD 25 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: NZD 5 per night (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: NZD 5 per night (rates may vary)
  • Self parking fee: NZD 15 per night
  • Extended parking fee: NZD 15 per night
  • Rollaway bed fee: NZD 35.00 per night
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 3.5 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Palmerston North Quest
  • Quest Hotel Palmerston North
  • Quest Palmerston North
  • Quest Palmerston North Aparthotel
  • Quest Palmerston Aparthotel
  • Quest Palmerston North
  • Central Square Palmerston
  • Central Square Hotel Aparthotel
  • Central Square Hotel Palmerston North
  • Central Square Hotel Aparthotel Palmerston North

You should know

  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.

National Rating

This property does not have a Qualmark® rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

url importing http://www.wotif.co.nz/Palmerston-North-Hotels-Central-Square-Hotel.h2130288-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Palmerston-North-Hotels-Central-Square-Hotel.h2130288-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.co.nz/Palmerston-North-Hotels-Central-Square-Hotel.h2130288-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.