4.5 out of 5

"We stayed in a ensuite cabin. It was a good size with a nice outlook. Good facilities, we had a good nights sleep. Love the pool. Still always a fanta ... " More

By a verified traveller on Thu 26 Apr 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A family-friendly stay in Taupo awaits you at Lake Taupo Holiday Resort. You'll be 3.9 km (2.4 mi) from Lake Taupo and 4.6 km (2.8 mi) from Huka Falls. Highlights at this motel include 2 outdoor swimming pools, free self parking and a poolside bar.

All 40 rooms feature TVs with digital channels, and you can enjoy balconies or patios, WiFi and phones.

The Cafe, Lustys Lagoon, serves local cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Enjoy the 2 outdoor tennis courts, kids' swimming pool and pool loungers plus access to hot springs. Business travellers can take advantage of a conference centre, a meeting room and a business centre. Other amenities include WiFi in public areas, a coffee shop/café and laundry facilities. Each morning cooked-to-order breakfast is served between 8 AM and 10 AM. There's also the convenience of RV/bus/truck parking.

Sights within a 10-minute walk of this 3-star Taupo motel include Golf Club Taupo and Spa Thermal Park.

Deluxe Cabin, Shared Bathroom

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max
NZ$124* Per night/room 21 Aug. - 22 Aug.

Family Cottage, 1 Bedroom, Private Bathroom

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 10 Max

Family Cabin, 1 Bedroom, Private Bathroom

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, Non Smoking, Private Bathroom

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Family Cottage, 2 Bedrooms, Private Bathroom

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Premium Cottage, 3 Bedrooms, Private Bathroom

Bed Count 2 King Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Lake Taupo Holiday Resort ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.5 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Lake Taupo Holiday Resort

Everyone (21) Couples (8) Family (68)
5 out of 5
Wonderful place for a relaxing holiday.Friendly staff .Comfortable bed and fabulous shower pressure.Thermal pools amazing!!

Posted by , from Hamilton on 10 Oct. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Oct. 2018 by admin

Hi Ronny, Thanks for sharing your wonderful experience, hope we get to see you again

4 out of 5
We stayed in a ensuite cabin. It was a good size with a nice outlook. Good facilities, we had a good nights sleep. Love the pool. Still always a fantastic resort. Thanks

Posted by , from Bay of Plenty on 26 Apr. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Jun. 2018 by Front Office

Thanks Ford Family for coming to stay again and we are very pleased you relaxed in the pool again

5 out of 5

fabulous facility - the swim up bar was awesome

Pros: The swim up bar in the pool
Cons: nothing - i think it was perfect
Location: Easy access to everything - safe and secure as well
Friendly staff who were willing to help with bookings, as well as taxi service. The facilities are amazing and the pool was an absolute bonus after doing the Tongariro Crossing. This venue suits both couples and families and we will be back again for sure.

Posted by on 1 Mar. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Apr. 2018 by Reception

Thank you for letting us know about your stay, we are pleased you enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you again

5 out of 5

Great room at Top 10

Great place top 10 kids love the new pool. Just found the water to cold around the bar. But loved the hot pool nice and relaxing. Enjoyed the movies just found it hard to hear when you in the hot pool. Staff was nice and friendly and always smiling. Thanks for a great weekend.

Posted by on 28 Jul. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Apr. 2018 by T

Thanks for your great review and comments.

5 out of 5
Had a fantastic holiday. So many activities for the whole family. The new pool is amazing! Will highly recommend to everyone. Will be back. Thanks

Posted by on 25 Apr. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Apr. 2018 by T

Thanks for your lovely recommendation, look forward to seeing you again at our place

5 out of 5
Pros: The cleanliness and friendliness of staff members.
Cons: Would be good to be able to have people visit during the day. I understand their reasoning behind it but would have improved the visit.
Location: Great location, close to shops, lake, hot pools and easy to find.
Excellent accommodation, staff were really friendly, room and facilities exceeded expectation and the pool area was fantastic! Would definitely return.

Posted by , from Wellington on 8 Mar. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Apr. 2018 by T

Thanks for your great review and comments.

5 out of 5

Great park and close to the walking track

Pros: The pool
Cons: Staffing at busier times
Location: The location was good, close to the Huka Falls walk and across the road from the AC Baths (not that you need them with the pool at the holiday Park)
Great time, very relaxed atmosphere with a great pool with very reasonable prices for meals

Posted by , from Palmerston North on 26 Jan. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Apr. 2018 by T

Thanks for your comments, we have been working on staffing over last few years and hopefully you will find things improved.

5 out of 5

Large well maintained site

Pros: Convenient location to stay to undertake Tongariro Crossing and visit local area. Well managed site with good facilities.
Cons: No complaints/criticisms. Would hope to visit again.
Location: Tongariro alpine Crossing and multiple other trips with advice from Reception. Is located on edge of Taupo , so need transport to get down to the lake
Great place to stay to explore Taupo and surrounding area, with pickup from site to do Tongariro Crossing (which was awesome) and other trips. Popular site, mainly for camping/touring vehicles, but I stayed in excellent "standard cabin" which was clean and comfortable. Clean wash blocks and communal facilities. All up to standard you expect from a Top10 Site.

Posted by , from Lancashire, UK on 12 Jan. 2016

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Apr. 2018 by T

Thanks so much for your high recommendation

4 out of 5
We stayed here for 2 nights in the July school holidays. Staff were friendly, informative and helpful. The cabin was lovely and cozy, and super warm (fantastic as we were right in the middle of the "cold-snap"). Great place for young families as it has a lot of activities for the kids. Would love to visit in the summer time.

Posted by on 14 Jul. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Apr. 2018 by T

Thanks for recommending us

1 out of 5

unprofessional staff

The staff were rude and unhelpful with regards to an accomodation mix up. We ended up turning around and leaving straight away and finding somewhere else to stay.

Posted by on 23 Jun. 2015

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Jul. 2015 by team leader

Thanks for your review. We see you booked a standard cabin thru wotif/expedia then upon check in you realised it didn't have a bathroom. It clearly states on this site that the bathroom is shared (communal) You were offered an upgrade to a room with ensuite but refused this. I'm sorry that you feel our staff member was rude but they were following procedure. You would have received room details and cancellation policy on your confirmation email. I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused.

About the Lake Taupo Holiday Resort

Location 41 Centennial Drive, Taupo, 3351

Renovations + Closures

The property will be renovating from 29 October 2019 until 28 November 2019 (completion date subject to change). The following areas are affected:

  • Swimming pool
  • One of the swimming pools

During renovations, the motel will make every effort to minimise noise and disturbance.

Property Features

Lake Taupo Holiday Resort offers its guests hot springs, 2 the outdoor swimming pools, outdoor tennis courts, and a kid's pool. There's a coffee shop/café on site. You can enjoy a drink at the swim-up bar. Public spaces have WiFi for a fee. Business amenities include a business centre and a meeting room. A library, a terrace, and tour or ticket assistance are also featured at the family-friendly Lake Taupo Holiday Resort. Free self parking is available. This 3-star Taupo motel is smoke free.

  • 40 guestrooms or units
  • Bar by the pool
  • Swim-up bar
  • Coffee shop
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Conference centre
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Games room or arcade
  • Library
  • Corner/local shop
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Television in lobby
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 2
  • Children's pool
  • Outdoor tennis courts - 2
  • Grocery/convenience store
  • Laundry facilities
  • Arcade/game room
  • Playground on site

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: WiFi (surcharge)

Parking

Free self parking , RV, bus, truck parking

Transport

  • Airport: Taupo (TUO) (12.1 km / 7.5 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Lake Taupo Holiday Resort offers 40 forms of accommodation with air conditioning. Rooms open to balconies or patios. Televisions come with digital channels. In-room wireless Internet access is available for a surcharge.

  • Private balcony or patio
  • Television
  • Digital channels
  • Kitchenware
  • Telephone
  • Air conditioning

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 8 AM to 10 AM.

Lustys Lagoon – This poolside Cafe specialises in local cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 3 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 8 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 8 AM - 8:30 PM.
To make arrangements for check-in, please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation.

Reception is available limited hours Christmas Eve (closing 6 PM) and Christmas Day (9 AM to 11 AM and 4 PM to 6 PM). Guests are asked to call ahead to check reception hours during winter and Christmas.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 8 AM - 8:30 PM.
To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for NZD 26.00.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for NZD 10.0 per day.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between NZD 8.00 and NZD 20.00 for adults, and NZD 8.00 and NZD 20.00 for children (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: NZD 2.00 per day (rates may vary)
  • Fee for wireless Internet in public areas: NZD 2.00 per day (rates may vary)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: NZD 10.0 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday
  • Lake Taupo TOP 10 Holiday Resort
  • TOP 10 Holiday Resort
  • Lake Taupo Holiday

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Certain facilities might have restricted access. For details, you can contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation.

Awards & Affiliations

Green/Sustainable Property
This property participates in Qualmark, a programme that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: The Environment, the community, the cultural heritage and the local economy.

*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.