Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.5 out of 5

"Great mountain view in a quiet location off the main highway. Rooms are very clean and the check-in process very easy. " More

By a verified traveller on Sun 09 Feb 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Sunset Motel places you steps from Te Wahipounamu and within a 15-minute stroll of Fox Glacier Glow Worm Forest. Highlights at this motel include free self parking, and in-room kitchens and free WiFi.

All 25 rooms feature TVs with DVD players, and you can enjoy balconies, coffee/tea makers, and safes. In-room dining is convenient with amenities like kitchens and room service. Additionally, refrigerators, phones, and irons/ironing boards are available.

This business-friendly motel offers free WiFi in public areas, concierge services, and a terrace. Other amenities include laundry facilities, a garden, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Continental breakfast is available daily.

With a stay at this 3-star Fox Glacier motel, you'll be 27.2 km (16.9 mi) from Franz Josef Glacier.

Executive Studio (Double)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
NZ$94* Per night/room 6 Jun. - 7 Jun.

Apartment, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Apartment, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Standard Studio

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Premier Studio, Mountain View (Spa)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Executive Studio (Triple)

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Sunset Motel ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.5 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Sunset Motel

Everyone (15) Couples (29) Family (4)
4 out of 5
Great mountain view in a quiet location off the main highway. Rooms are very clean and the check-in process very easy.

Posted by , from Hobart, Australia on 9 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5
the heater in my room did not work. Shower sporadic. Water tasted awfull. The manager was helpful and found a heater.

Posted by on 27 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 May 2019 by Wiley

Dear Guests Thank you for the reviews on your stay. There's another fan heater inside of the wardrobe but we would be more than happy to bring another one for you. And the water is drinkable from the tap as most of us do that. Kind Regards

5 out of 5
Lovely spot with view of mountains. Friendly staff

Posted by on 21 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Apr. 2019 by Wiley

Dear guest Thank you for you comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the views from the room. Kind Regards

3 out of 5
Super helpful friendly person at reception who gave great tips for enjoying the best of the area. Located away from main highway so no trucks roaring past.

Posted by on 13 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Apr. 2019 by Wiley

Dear Guest We appreciate your reviews on your stay. We are glad to know that you had a good one with us in Fox. Yes, we are located a bit off town to avoid the noise but not losing the great views. Kind Regards

5 out of 5
The staff here are amazing. Due to bad weather we had to stay longer but this was no problem. They went above and beyond to help us organise everything. Couldn't have been more helpful. Unbelievable service

Posted by on 25 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Mar. 2019 by Wiley

Dear Guest Thank you for your comments on your stay. We are pleased to hear that you had a great stay even the weather was not really good. We hope you have a good trip as well. Kind Regards Wiley

4 out of 5
The view was amazing! Accommodation very quiet and clean. Staff very helpful and obliging. Self contained kitchenette fantastic Would come again

Posted by on 13 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Mar. 2019 by Wiley

Dear Valued Guest We appreciate your comments on your stay with us. We are pleased that you had a great stay while in Fox. We try our best to provide you a better stay experience. Kind Regards

5 out of 5

Posted by on 20 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Feb. 2019 by Alex

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to share your comments. Kind regards

4 out of 5

Posted by on 2 Jan. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Feb. 2019 by Alex

Dear Guest, Thank you for your time to share your comments. Kind regards

5 out of 5
Very nice hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Easy and clean laundry service too

Posted by , from Netherlands on 15 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Nov. 2018 by Wiley

Dear Nel Thank you for your time to placing you reviews. We hope you had a good stay. Kind Regards

5 out of 5

Nice hotel close to attractions

Good hotel in handy location. All room facilities worked and rooms were very clean. Staff were helpful.

Posted by on 17 Jun. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

20 Jun. 2018 by Wiley

Dear valued guest Thank you for taking time to share your stay experience with us. We hope you had a good stay in Fox Glacier. And we hope to see you the next time! Kind Regards Sunset Motel

Property Features

As a guest of Sunset Motel, you'll find a terrace, tour/ticket assistance, and multilingual staff. WiFi is free in public spaces. The business-friendly Sunset Motel also features a garden, concierge services, and laundry facilities. Self parking is free. This 3-star Fox Glacier motel is smoke free.

  • 25 guestrooms or units
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Hokitika (HKK) (159.9 km / 99.3 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Sunset Motel offers 25 accommodations with DVD players and safes. Rooms open to balconies. Accommodations at this 3-star motel have kitchens with refrigerators and coffee/tea makers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and phones.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Private balcony
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • Television
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Coffee maker
  • Hair dryer available
  • Safe
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy continental breakfast daily.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 8 PM

Special check-in instructions:

There is no front desk at this property. To make arrangements for check-in please contact the property at least 24 hours before arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. If you are planning to arrive after 8 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property for check-in instructions.

This property does not have a front desk. To arrange for check-in, guests must contact the property at least 24 hours prior to arrival using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests arriving after 8 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Guests must contact the property for check-in instructions.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are not available.

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • No cots (infant beds) available
  • No lifts

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for continental breakfast: NZD 15.00 for adults and NZD 15.00 for children (approximately)

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Sunset Fox Glacier
  • Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
  • Sunset Motel Motel
  • Sunset Hotel Fox Glacier
  • Sunset Motel Fox Glacier
  • Sunset Motel Motel Fox Glacier

National Rating

This property does not have a Qualmark® rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

url importing http://www.wotif.co.nz/Fox-Glacier-Hotels-Sunset-Motel.h2594339-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Fox-Glacier-Hotels-Sunset-Motel.h2594339-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.co.nz/Fox-Glacier-Hotels-Sunset-Motel.h2594339-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.