4.3 out of 5

"Friendly staff. Shame you couldn't get in the back entrance when it was raining. " More

By a verified traveller on Wed 05 Sep 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A luxury stay in Rotorua awaits you at Rydges Rotorua. Within a 20-minute stroll, you'll find popular places like Tamaki Maori Village and Polynesian Spa. Highlights at this hotel include a restaurant, and in-room kitchenettes and free WiFi.

You can enjoy TVs with satellite channels, and all 135 rooms feature in-room childcare, coffee/tea makers, and free newspapers. Minibars provide refreshments, and dining in is an option with amenities like kitchenettes and 24-hour room service. Fridges, in-room massages, and ceiling fans are also available.

The restaurant, Atrium Restaurant, is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. For a drink, you can stop by the hotel's own bar/lounge. Added amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a fitness centre, and laundry facilities. Each morning buffet breakfast is served between 7 AM and 10 AM. There's also the convenience of free self parking.

Attractions within a 15-minute drive of this 4-star Fenton Street hotel include Skyline Rotorua and Lake Rotoiti.

Deluxe King Spa Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Family Room

Bed Count 3 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 6 Max

Superior Room, 2 Queen Beds

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

King Spa One Bedroom Suite

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Twin Spa Room

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Rydges Rotorua ratings based on 1,028 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Rydges Rotorua

Everyone (333) Business (4) Couples (322) Family (366)
4 out of 5
My initial booking fell through the cracks and there was no room available for 2 out of 3 nights that we booked. Whilst it was an inconvenience, that staff were apologetic, and did do everything in their power to remedy the situation. They manage to book us in to the Copthorne down the road for 2 nights. That hotel was dated, but functional, and the facilities at the Rydges were definitely much better. The Rydes also offered 50% off the bill at their restaurant, which was nice. Throughout our stay, all the staff from the reception, to rge restaurant, to check out were aware of our situation, and made an extra effort to ensure things were ok. So overall, we were happy given the way things evetuated.

Posted by on 24 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
There is a strange smell on the room that we stay. Apart from that everything was great. Restaurant was very good value for money.

Posted by on 23 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
3 out of 5

Posted by on 8 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Really great service and free meals and accommodation for kids with paying adults are a bonus.

Posted by on 7 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
The food is great as I have room service, the beds are ok but the décor is quite dated, I enjoy staying here but would love it if the look was more modern.

Posted by on 18 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Mar. 2019 by Monique

Thanks for your great review.

2 out of 5
No pool. We used to live it as a family. Also pretty expensive as breakfast wasn’t included

Posted by on 17 Mar. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Mar. 2019 by Monique

Thank you for your feedback

2 out of 5
Extremely hot room, no air conditioning No toaster, no knives, plates

Posted by on 23 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Mar. 2019 by Monique

Thank you for your review We provide tea and coffee making facilities in the room only, the restaurant team would have been more than happy to assist with any requests.

5 out of 5

Posted by on 20 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5
Very disappointed that both the gym and pool were closed without any notice of tge closure when I booked online. Eating in the restaurant the drone from the ventilation system was irritating and hard to put up with.

Posted by on 16 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Mar. 2019 by Monique

Dear Guest Sorry to hear that you didn't have a good stay, we don't advertise that we have a swimming pool so apologies if you thought there was one. The ventilation system is key to the restaurant as it is an aircon and keeps the temperature ambient for all our customers

3 out of 5
No pool no gym but still advertised. Paid too much.

Posted by on 10 Feb. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Mar. 2019 by Monique

Dear Guest We don't advertise that we have a swimming pool, if you could please let me know where you had seen it advertised then I can get that rectified.

Renovations + Closures

The following facilities will be closed from 15 March 2019 until 31 December 2019 (dates subject to change):

  • Fitness facilities

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. Public spaces have free WiFi. A fitness centre, tour or ticket assistance, and multilingual staff are also featured at the luxury Rydges Rotorua. The hotel can provide concierge services and wedding services. Free self parking is available. This 4-star Rotorua hotel is smoke free.

  • 135 guestrooms or units
  • 5 levels
  • Built in 1997
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-out
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Gift shop
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Bellhop
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Free WiFi
  • Kitchenette
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Refrigerator
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Rotorua (ROT-Rotorua Regional) (8.3 km / 5.2 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Rydges Rotorua offers 135 forms of accommodation with minibars and free newspapers. Accommodation at this 4-star hotel has kitchenettes with fridges and coffee/tea makers. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wireless Internet access. Televisions come with satellite channels. Additionally, rooms include an iron/ironing board and a ceiling fan. Housekeeping is offered on a daily basis and in-room massages can be requested.

  • In-room kitchenette
  • Minibar
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • Television
  • Satellite channels
  • Fridge
  • Coffee maker
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Massage in room (surcharge)
  • Hairdryer
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Heating
  • Ceiling fan
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a buffet breakfast daily from 7 AM to 10 AM.

Atrium Restaurant – This restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.

24-hour room service is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for NZD 35.0 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Cash deposit: NZD 100 per night

The charges below are included in your overall room price:

  • Resort fee

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between NZD 18.5 and NZD 25 per person (approximately)
  • Rollaway bed fee: NZD 35.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Rydges Rotorua Hotel
  • Rydges Hotel
  • Rydges Rotorua
  • Rotorua Rydges Hotel
  • Rydges Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
  • Rydges Hotel Rotorua

You should know

  • The total price shown includes a resort fee.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.

National Rating

Qualmark® assigns an official star rating for accommodation in New Zealand. This Hotel property has been rated 4 stars.

Official New Zealand Rating provided by Qualmark®