Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
3.8 out of 5

"Quite surpassed our expectation. Very conveniently located. Room was well laid out and very spacious. Food was excellent and staff very professional, ... " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 28 Aug 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth puts you in the heart of Greymouth, steps from Left Bank Art Gallery and within a 10-minute stroll of West Coast Rail Trail. Highlights at this hotel include a restaurant, free self parking and a bar/lounge.

LCD TVs with satellite channels are featured in all 98 rooms, and you can enjoy coffee/tea makers, free newspapers and safes. Fridges and round-the-clock room service make in-room dining convenient. Hairdryers, phones and irons/ironing boards are also available.

The restaurant, Jimmy Cook's Kiwi Kitchen, serves local cuisine and is open for breakfast and dinner. Added amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a fitness centre and laundry facilities. Buffet breakfast is available on weekdays between 6:30 AM and 10:00 AM and on weekends between 7:00 AM and 10:00 AM. There's also the convenience of car rentals on site.

In proximity to this 3.5-star Greymouth hotel you'll find Lake Brunner.

Economy Twin Room

Bed Count 2 Twin Beds Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
NZ$87* Per night/room 23 Oct. - 24 Oct.

Standard Twin

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Riverview King

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Economy Double Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Superior Double

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Standard Double Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth ratings based on 290 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.8 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Everyone (135) Couples (109) Family (44)
4 out of 5

Posted by on 15 Oct. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Oct. 2019 by Graham

Thank you for your feedback

4 out of 5
Property now really showing its age, furnishings tired and in need of refurbishment

Posted by on 7 Oct. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Oct. 2019 by Graham

Dear Traveler, thank you for your feedback, I am happy to advise that we are over halfway through upgrading our superior rooms.

5 out of 5
We had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay here. We needed to get another bed in our room and it was done for us without any fuss. The room we had was recently renovated and very modern.

Posted by on 29 Sep. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Sep. 2019 by Graham

Dear Traveler, I am happy that you had an enjoyable and comfortable stay, Good to see that you were pleased with our renovations of the superior rooms

5 out of 5
Small town stuff. Very friendly. Things have improved since last visit.

Posted by on 19 Sep. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Sep. 2019 by Graham

Thank you for your feed back

2 out of 5
Great location. Rooms desperately need an update and a nice new queen bed.

Posted by on 11 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Aug. 2019 by Graham

Dear Traveler, thank you for your feedback, I am pleased to advise that our superior rooms are currently being upgraded and that this includes replacing all of the beds with either queens or kings.

4 out of 5
The building and room were clean and tidy just a little tired or run down looking, needed a bit of sprucing up

Posted by on 5 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

7 Aug. 2019 by Graham

Dear M&S, thank you for your review, I am pleased to say that the builders have moved in and have started upgrading all of our superior rooms.

2 out of 5
The rooms need a makeover, and also the outside requires an upgrade.

Posted by on 4 Aug. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
The best things are location, friendly staff and a gyrations dinner menu

Posted by on 26 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

29 Jul. 2019 by Graham

Dear Traveler, thank you for your feedback, our location is the best in Greymouth, right in the centre of town only 300 metres from the train station, I am happy that our staff were friendly, I am a little lost on the term gyrations and it's relevance to the dinner menu, but I take it as being good, so thank you.

2 out of 5
Place is very run down. Was up graded to a room that really shouldnt be promoted as a superior room... beds were uncomfortable and old and small, like a double bed. Restaurant food was average. I ordered the lamb, but the cut of meat was terrible and the lamb overcooked so it was inedible. No.directions in how to get to our room.when checking in, minimal carparking space also. Wont be going back here anytime soon.

Posted by on 22 Jul. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Jul. 2019 by Graham

Dear Traveler, Thank you for your feedback, I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us, you did upgrade to a room that had a superking size bed, these are not very old and the feedback from them is generally very good. Our slow cooked lamb is our most popular dish, the leg of lamb is slowly roasted in excess of 4 hours, I am sorry that you found this overcooked. As well as the carparks behind the hotel, we also have another carpark in the adjacent block, this is normally sufficient for our needs.

2 out of 5
The room was clean and tidy however it was very noisy with the gate below clanging all night, thumping from above and below, kitchen noise and very bad air quality. I have an air quality reader on my phone and the alarm went off from around 8 on when they opened the restaurant and went back down to average at 2am. It was difficult to sleep as a result. I stayed 2 nights and didn't sleep well both nights. I informed the front desk and was told there were no rooms available that weren't near the restaurant.

Posted by , from Hokitika on 25 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

27 Jun. 2019 by Graham

Dear Josh, I am sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant stay with us and that you found it difficult to sleep, and I apologise for this. I have never had a comment before about air quality in the rooms and will look into this further. Your room was some distance from the kitchen and it's exhaust system. Thank you for bringing to our attention the gate banging, we will fix this to day.

About the Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth

Location 32 Mawhera Quay, Greymouth, 7840

Property Features

There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is free in public spaces. A fitness centre, tour or ticket assistance, and a garden are also featured at the eco-friendly Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth. Self parking is free. This 3.5-star Greymouth hotel is smoke free.

  • 98 guestrooms or units
  • 6 levels
  • 94 sq. m of conference space
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Garden
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Bellhop
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator

Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Hokitika (HKK) (39.9 km / 24.8 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth offers 98 forms of accommodation with a safe and free newspapers. Guests can make use of the in-room fridges and coffee/tea makers. Bathrooms include complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. 32-inch LCD televisions come with satellite channels. Business-friendly amenities include desks and telephones. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • LCD television
  • Satellite channels
  • Fridge
  • Coffee maker
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast on weekdays from 6:30 AM to 10:00 AM and at the weekend from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Jimmy Cook's Kiwi Kitchen – This restaurant specialises in local cuisine and serves breakfast and dinner.

24-hour room service is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the hotel include a fitness centre.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Children stay free when using existing bedding.

Pets

  • No pets allowed, but service animals are welcome

Policies

Additional policies and fees may apply when booking more than 4 rooms. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guest room reservation.

  • Only service animals are allowed
  • Union Pay
  • No lifts
  • Debit cards

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between NZD 16.50 and NZD 23.00 per person (approximately)
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 2 per cent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Greymouth Hotel
  • Greymouth Kingsgate
  • Greymouth Kingsgate Hotel
  • Hotel Greymouth
  • Kingsgate Greymouth
  • Kingsgate Greymouth Hotel
  • Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth
  • Kingsgate Greymouth Greymouth
  • Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth Hotel
  • Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth Greymouth
  • Kingsgate Hotel Greymouth Hotel Greymouth

Awards & Affiliations

Green/Sustainable Property
This property participates in Qualmark, a programme that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: The Environment, the community, the cultural heritage and the local economy.

National Rating

Qualmark® assigns an official star rating for accommodation in New Zealand. This Hotel property has been rated 3 star plus, which is displayed on this page as 3.5 stars.

Official New Zealand Rating provided by Qualmark®

url importing https://www.wotif.co.nz/Greymouth-Hotels-Kingsgate-Hotel-Greymouth.h12933-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.