Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.3 out of 5

"The staff were so helpful and friendly. Hanoor stayed back after his shift to find a remote control for our TV that was playing up, he also noticed us ... " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 10 Mar 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

At Mercure Queenstown Resort you'll be 1.8 km (1.1 mi) from Lake Wakatipu and 2.7 km (1.7 mi) from Queenstown Gardens. Highlights at this hotel include 2 restaurants, 2 spa tubs, and free self parking.

You can enjoy LCD TVs with satellite channels, and all 148 individually furnished rooms feature free WiFi, wired Internet, and coffee/tea makers. Dining in is an option with 24-hour room service, and minibars provide refreshments. Nice touches to enhance your stay include bathrobes and free toiletries. Free newspapers, safes, and hair dryers are also available.

The restaurant, South Eatery Restaurant, is open for dinner. At the hotel's own bar/lounge, you can stop for a drink. Enjoy the fitness center, sauna, seasonal outdoor swimming pool, and pool loungers. 3272 square feet (304 square meters) of event facilities include conference space, and other business amenities include a 24-hour business center. Other amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a coffee shop/café, and a snack bar/deli. Buffet breakfast is available daily between 6 AM and 10 AM. There's also the convenience of a ski shuttle.

Within a 15-minute drive of this 4-star Queenstown hotel, attractions include Skyline Gondola and Shotover Jet.

Room, Garden View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Room, Garden View

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Superior Room, Lake View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Superior Room, Lake View

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, Lake View

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Deluxe Room, Lake View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Mercure Queenstown Resort ratings based on 553 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Mercure Queenstown Resort

Everyone (213) Couples (175) Family (158)
5 out of 5
The staff were so helpful and friendly. Hanoor stayed back after his shift to find a remote control for our TV that was playing up, he also noticed us walking to town after our long trip and offered us a ride in to town which was so wonderful of him. Eva was super nice and accommodating, Hayley and Josh were also running a super tight ship. The Bathroom need a Reno and a few things are a bit worn but I hear they are doing a big face lift. All in all it was a beautiful stay with outstanding views and Staff. Thanks Jimmi

Posted by on 10 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Friendly helpful staff. Large open common decks with wonderful views of Lake Wakatipu.

Posted by on 3 Mar. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

10 Mar. 2020 by Lisa

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your great review score and positive feedback on our wonderful location. We do hope you return to us soon! Kind regards, Lisa Ireland, General Manager, Mercure Queenstown

3 out of 5
liked the lounge/bar area and great view of the lake. reception staff were nice room was average condition. carpet was pretty disgusting - I constantly wore socks or shoes - didn't want my bare feet on it. TV was substandard - pretty terrible in fact - only about 6 channels and half of them were sport - would have been nice to watch something at the end of the day. Our room was near the lift which was very noisy - especially at night - why put us near the lift when the hotel was only about 30% full. Wont rebook there again :(

Posted by on 2 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Feb. 2020 by Lisa

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Queenstown Resort. We apologise your experience did not meet the high standards the Mercure is known for. We thank you once again for providing this feedback as it allows us to improve for the future and continue to strive to provide excellent services and experiences. I'm happy to advise we are undertaking a major hotel transformation in the later part of the year which will address the issues you have outlined. We do hope you return to the hotel to allow us to take care of you again in the future. Warm Regards, Lisa Ireland, General Manager

5 out of 5
Great views, good rooms but limited parking. We found it difficult to get parking nearby

Posted by on 22 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Feb. 2020 by Lisa

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your fantastic review score. We are sorry you encountered challenges with car parking on your stay. As the summer season is very busy and we offer free car parking on a first come, first served basis, this situation can sometimes arise. We do hope this doesn’t deter you from returning to us for the amazing location and views!. Kind regards, Lisa Ireland, General Manager, Mercure Queenstown

2 out of 5
Room needs renovation. Shower is over the bath. Television was small and hazy on some channels Not many channels to choose from. Rollaway bed was very uncomfortable. Down the very end of hallway with no views but was told an extra forty dollars we would have a view. Would not stay there again. Receptionists were good.

Posted by on 17 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Feb. 2020 by Lisa

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Queenstown Resort. I apologise your experience did not meet the high standards the Mercure is known for. We thank you once again for providing this specific feedback as it allows us to improve for the future and continue to strive to provide excellent services and experiences. We will be undertaking a major refurbishment and transformation in the later part of this year and I do hope you return to allow us to take care of you again on your next visit. Warm Regards, Lisa Ireland, General Manager

5 out of 5
Love my stay with 2 young kids. The pools and the spas were the highlight for the kids, the pools aren’t heated but makes for good hot and cold therapy with the spas. All staff made us feel very welcome and comfortable, we absolutely loved our stay, thank you 😊

Posted by on 16 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Feb. 2020 by Lisa

Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Mercure Queenstown Resort. We are thrilled you and your family had an enjoyable stay and rated the hotel, staff, and facilities highly. It was our pleasure to take care of you during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind regards, Lisa Ireland, General Manager

5 out of 5

Posted by on 16 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Feb. 2020 by Lisa

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your fantastic review score. We do hope you return to us soon! Kind regards, Lisa Ireland, General Manager, Mercure Queenstown

5 out of 5
Was a lovely view and parking! Could have a microwave though

Posted by on 16 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Feb. 2020 by Lisa

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your fantastic review score and feedback on the views and free carparking. We do hope you return to us soon! Kind regards, Lisa Ireland, General Manager, Mercure Queenstown

5 out of 5
It was all really nice, enjoyed the quietness. Liked the light behind the curtain rail, really seemed like natural light

Posted by on 12 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Feb. 2020 by Lisa

Dear Guest, thank you so much for your fantastic review score and positive feedback on our location and room. We do hope you return to us soon! Kind regards, Lisa Ireland, General Manager, Mercure Queenstown

2 out of 5
Very uncomfortable beds. Time to invest in new mattresses. Saggy horrible, well below average quality. Shame.

Posted by on 12 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Feb. 2020 by Lisa

Dear Guest, we are sorry you did not enjoy you stay and your expectations with regards to our bedding were not met. Your feedback enables us to improve on our products and services. I hope this didn’t affect your holiday in beautiful Queenstown and you enjoyed our views and the many activities Queenstown has to offer, Kind Regards, Lisa Ireland, General Manager, Mercure Queenstown

About the Mercure Queenstown Resort

Location Sainsbury Road, Queenstown, 9300

Property Features

As a guest of Mercure Queenstown Resort, you'll find 2 spa tubs, a sauna, a fitness center, and a seasonal outdoor pool. There are 2 restaurants on site, as well as a coffee shop/café and a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi and wired Internet are free in public spaces. There's an onsite 24-hour business center. Event space at this hotel measures 3272 square feet (304 square meters) and includes conference space. A terrace, tour/ticket assistance, and barbecue grills are also featured at the business-friendly Mercure Queenstown Resort. Self parking is free. This 4-star Queenstown hotel is smoke free.

  • 148 guestrooms or units
  • 2 dining venues
  • 3272 sq ft of conference space
  • 304 sq m of conference space
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Deli
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Ski equipment storage
  • Business center (24 hours)
  • Conference space
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Wired Internet access (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Queenstown (ZQN-Queenstown Intl.) (9.9 km / 6.2 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Ski shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Mercure Queenstown Resort offers 148 accommodations with minibars and safes. Each accommodation is individually furnished. 26-inch LCD televisions come with satellite channels. Bathrooms include showers, bathrobes, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and complimentary newspapers. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Minibar
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • LCD television
  • Satellite channels
  • Coffee maker
  • Shower
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique furnishings
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast daily from 6 AM to 10 AM.

South Eatery Restaurant - Overlooking the ocean, this restaurant serves dinner only. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar. A children's menu is available. Reservations are required.

Rises Restaurant - Overlooking the ocean, this restaurant serves breakfast only. A children's menu is available.

24-hour room service is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at midnight

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Mercure Queenstown Resort

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • UnionPay
  • No pets or service animals allowed
  • Debit cards
  • Number of children who can stay for free – 2

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: NZD 100 per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: NZD 27 per person (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wired Internet: NZD 10 per hour (rates may vary)
  • Late check-out fee: NZD 20 (subject to availability)
  • In-room safe fee: NZD 50 per stay
  • Rollaway beds are available for an additional fee
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 2 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Mercure Queenstown
  • Mercure Queenstown Resort
  • Mercure Queenstown Queenstown
  • Mercure Resort Queenstown
  • Queenstown Mercure
  • Queenstown Mercure Resort
  • Mercure Hotel Queenstown
  • Mercure Resort Queenstown Hotel Queenstown
  • Mercure Queenstown Resort Hotel
  • Mercure Queenstown Resort Queenstown
  • Mercure Queenstown Resort Hotel Queenstown

You should know

  • The seasonal pool will open in January and close in December.
  • Pool access available from 7:00 AM to 10:00 PM.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.

National Rating

Qualmark® assigns an official star rating for accommodations in New Zealand. This Hotel property is rated 4 stars.

Official New Zealand Rating provided by Qualmark®

url importing https://www.wotif.co.nz/Queenstown-Hotels-Mercure-Queenstown-Resort.h5660-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.