Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.2 out of 5

"Paid for a deluxe room and I don't think that this is what I got but the receptionist was very vague. Arrived back at about 10 pm and couldn't get a c ... " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 26 Sep 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A luxury stay in the heart of Rotorua awaits you at Prince's Gate Hotel. You'll be 0.5 km (0.3 mi) from Polynesian Spa and 4.6 km (2.9 mi) from Skyline Rotorua. Highlights at this family-friendly hotel include 2 restaurants, 3 outdoor swimming pools, and an indoor swimming pool.

You can enjoy LCD TVs with digital channels, and all 50 individually decorated rooms feature free WiFi, in-room childcare, and free newspapers. Minibars provide refreshments, and in-room dining is easy with amenities like refrigerators and room service. Nice touches to enhance your stay include bathrobes and designer toiletries, while premium linens invite a good night's rest. Free local calls, fans, and safes are also available.

The restaurant, Nellie Budd Restaurant, is open for dinner. Duke's Bar is the hotel's own bar, serving drinks along with light fare. Enjoy the spa tub, sauna, seasonal outdoor swimming pool, and kids' swimming pool. Business amenities include a conference center and a business center. Added amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a coffee shop/café, and a snack bar/deli. Each morning full breakfast is served between 7 AM and 10 AM. There's also free parking nearby, along with the convenience of an airport shuttle.

Within a 15-minute drive of this 4.5-star Rotorua hotel, attractions include Lake Rotorua and Lake Rotoiti.

Snug Room

Bed Count 1 Full Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
NZ$130* Per night/room 20 Oct. - 21 Oct.

Duchess Suite

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

One Bedroom Suite (In Adjacent Building)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Two Bedroom Suite (In Adjacent Building)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Designer Room

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Premium Two Bedroom Suite (In Adjacent Building)

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Prince's Gate Hotel ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.2 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Prince's Gate Hotel

Everyone (122) Couples (39) Family (12)
3 out of 5
Paid for a deluxe room and I don't think that this is what I got but the receptionist was very vague. Arrived back at about 10 pm and couldn't get a coffee from the bar as the machine had been switches Off. A bit disappointed

Posted by on 26 Sep. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Sep. 2020 by Gurinder S

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are disappointed to read the room you were booked into wasn't what you expected. We do our room allocations very carefully and we do provide the same rooms that guests have booked online so I am bit surprised to read your feedback on this. Our bar service do normally finish at the same time as our restaurant which is 9:30pm depending on how busy the restaurant is. If it is convenient are you able to please contact myself directly so I can look into the booking that you made. We would love for you come to back and have an enjoyable experience to remember. If you are in Rotorua again please do not hesitate to contact myself directly and I will personally look after your booking. Thank you for staying with us. Yours sincerely Gurinder Singh Front Office Manager

5 out of 5

Posted by , from NZ on 23 Sep. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Sep. 2020 by Gurinder S

Dear Brad Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. Much appreciated. Yours sincerely Gurinder Singh Front Office Manager

5 out of 5
A lovely historical hotel positioned close to the town. The restaurant serve food of a very high quality and the staff are fabulous.

Posted by , from Kaukapakapa on 15 Sep. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 Sep. 2020 by Gurinder

Dear Julie Thank you for your lovely review. We truly appreciate this and we look forward to welcoming you sometimes soon again. Yours sincerely Gurinder Singh Front Office Manager

4 out of 5
Really nice to stay in a hotel with a bit of history, we booked an Estate Room for my birthday. Unfortunately our first room wasn’t great, a little dark and overlooking the street, so not very private, felt more like a motel room. However, we were upgraded on our second night to a much nicer room which was great, nice modern bathroom and bright rooms. The free parking advertised is actually on street parking, so prepare to walk a bit if you can’t get a park next to the hotel.

Posted by , from Auckland on 11 Sep. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Sep. 2020 by Gurinder S

Dear Louise Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on Wotif. We are glad to read you were upgraded to a bigger room upon request which you liked. We are so sorry to hear you didn't liked the first room. We do have limited off street car parking and plenty of on street free car parking as well. Please visit us sometimes soon again. Your sincerely Gurinder Singh Front Office Manager

5 out of 5
Friendly staff, awesome location. Cute place with the beautiful wood paneling.

Posted by , from Auckland on 8 Sep. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

8 Sep. 2020 by Gurinder

Dear Julie Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review. We truly appreciate this and we are very much looking forward to welcoming you back. Yours sincerely Gurinder Singh Front Office Manager

5 out of 5

Posted by on 14 Aug. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Aug. 2020 by Gurinder

Dear Guest Thank you for your 5 out of 5 review. We truly appreciate this and hope to welcome you soon. Warm Regards Gurinder Singh Front Office Manager

5 out of 5
Great location, walking distance to Polynesian spa and all shops. lovely friendly helpful staff. Very clean and comfortable 😊

Posted by , from Christchurch on 13 Aug. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

22 Aug. 2020 by Gurinder

Dear Jessie Thank you for your feedback on your experience at the Prince's Gate Hotel, safe to say your stay went well and we will be looking forward to having you stay with us soon again in the near future. Warm Regards Gurinder Singh Front Office Manager

5 out of 5
Love the ambience of the place. Also the restaurant is amazing!

Posted by on 28 May 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 May 2020 by Gurinder

Dear Guest Thank you for your fantastic feedback on your stay at the Prince's Gate Hotel. Please visit us sometimes soon again. Kind Regards Gurinder Front Office Manager

4 out of 5

Posted by on 23 May 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 May 2020 by Gurinder S

Dear Guest Thank you for your feedback. Much appreciated. Kind Regards Gurinder Front Office Manager

4 out of 5
The staff were amazing and most helpful when it came to booking our bubble into their pool and for dinner.

Posted by on 22 May 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

23 May 2020 by Gurinder

Dear Guest Thank you for your fantastic feedback on your recent stay at the Prince's Gate Hotel. I am glad to read the team looked after you and we very much look forward to welcoming you sometime again in the future. Kind Regards Gurinder Front Office Manager

Property Features

Prince's Gate Hotel offers its guests hot springs, 3 outdoor swimming pools, an indoor pool, and a spa tub. There are 2 restaurants on site, as well as a coffee shop/café and a snack bar/deli. You can enjoy a drink at one of the bars, which include a poolside bar and a bar/lounge. Public spaces have free WiFi and wired Internet. You'll find a business center on site. A children's pool, a seasonal outdoor pool, and a sauna are also featured at the luxury Prince's Gate Hotel. An airport shuttle (available 24 hours) and an area shuttle are available for a fee. This Victorian Rotorua hotel is smoke free.

  • 50 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 2 buildings
  • 2 dining venues
  • Built in 1897
  • Bar by the pool
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Deli
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Conference center
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Library
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • BBQ grill(s)
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Television in lobby
  • Bellhop
  • Smoking in designated areas
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Number of outdoor pools - 3
  • Indoor pool
  • Children's pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Snack bar/deli
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Refrigerator

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Parking

Free parking nearby

Transport

  • Airport: Rotorua (ROT-Rotorua Regional) (9 km / 5.6 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle and area shuttle

Room Amenities

Prince's Gate Hotel offers 50 air-conditioned accommodations, which are accessible via exterior corridors and feature minibars and safes. Each accommodation is individually furnished and decorated. Beds feature premium bedding. LCD televisions come with premium digital channels. Bathrooms include bathrobes, designer toiletries, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and complimentary newspapers, as well as phones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include irons/ironing boards and fans. Housekeeping is offered daily and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested.

  • Minibar
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • LCD television
  • Digital channels
  • Premium channels
  • Refrigerator
  • Electric kettle
  • Luxury bedding
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Designer toiletries
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Exterior corridor access
  • Air conditioning
  • Fan
  • Unique furnishings
  • Unique decor
  • Connecting rooms available
  • Wheelchair accessible

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy full breakfast daily from 7 AM to 10 AM.

Nellie Budd Restaurant - This poolside restaurant serves dinner only. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). A children's menu is available. Happy hour is offered. Reservations are required.

Duke's Restaurant - This poolside restaurant serves breakfast, brunch, lunch, and light fare. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy alfresco dining (weather permitting). A children's menu is available. Happy hour is offered. Reservations are required. Open daily.

Duke's Bar - This bar serves light fare only. Open daily.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Spa Services

  • Sauna in spa
  • Outdoor public bath (no mineral springs)
  • Number of hot springs - 4

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2:00 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 10:00 AM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18

Special check-in instructions:

If you are planning to arrive after 11:00 PM please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

24-hour airport shuttle service is available on request. Fees may apply. Contact the property in advance to get details.

Guests arriving after 11:00 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation. Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Airport transportation is offered on request 24 hours a day. Fees may apply. For details, please contact the property in advance.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! One child stays free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for NZD 50.0 per day.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for NZD 15.0 per day.

Pet Policy

  • Pets and service animals are not allowed at Prince's Gate Hotel

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. No onsite parking is available. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place.Disinfectant is used to clean the property.Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests.Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; guests are provided with hand sanitizer.Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and also through room service.

  • One child stays free
  • UnionPay
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available for guests
  • Masks are available for guests
  • Gloves are available for guests
  • No shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Staffed front desk
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • No lifts
  • Individually wrapped food options are available
  • Service animals not allowed
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for lunch
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for dinner
  • Individually wrapped food options are available through room service
  • Debit cards
  • No gap period between guests' stays

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between NZD 30 and NZD 30 for adults, NZD 15 and NZD 15 for children (approximately)
  • Airport shuttle fee: NZD 30 per person (one way)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: NZD 15.0 per day
  • Rollaway bed fee: NZD 50.0 per day

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Hotel Princes Gate
  • Princes Gate Hotel
  • Princes Gate Hotel Rotorua
  • Princes Gate Rotorua
  • Princes Gate
  • Prince's Gate Hotel Rotorua
  • Prince's Gate Rotorua
  • Prince's Gate
  • Prince's Gate Hotel Hotel
  • Prince's Gate Hotel Rotorua
  • Prince's Gate Hotel Hotel Rotorua

You should know

  • Hot springs access available from 7:00 AM to 10:00 PM.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • Pets and service animals are not allowed on site.

National Rating

This Hotel property is rated 4 star plus.

url importing http://www.wotif.co.nz/Rotorua-Hotels-Prince's-Gate-Hotel.h5826-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Rotorua-Hotels-Prince's-Gate-Hotel.h5826-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.co.nz/Rotorua-Hotels-Prince's-Gate-Hotel.h5826-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.