4.8 out of 5

"My second stay at this lovely , close to restaurants, shops, clubs. Prompt service, luxury , warm rooms. will be staying again " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 07 Aug 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A luxury stay in the heart of Rotorua awaits you at Regent of Rotorua. You'll be 0.8 km (0.5 mi) from Tamaki Maori Village and 1.1 km (0.7 mi) from Polynesian Spa. Highlights at this boutique hotel include in-room free WiFi, free high-speed Internet, and LCD TVs.

IPod docks, satellite TV, and DVD players are featured in all 35 rooms. Fridges, microwaves, and room service make in-room dining convenient, and minibars provide refreshments. Premium bedding and down comforters invite a comfortable night's sleep, and you'll find nice touches like rainfall showerheads and bathrobes. Additionally, coffee/tea makers, free local calls, and safes are available.

The restaurant, Regent Room, serves international cuisine and is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. At the hotel's own bar/lounge, you can stop for a drink. Enjoy the outdoor swimming pool, fitness centre, and pool loungers. Additionally, you'll find free WiFi in public areas, coffee/tea in a common area, and laundry facilities. Each morning cooked-to-order breakfast is served between 6:30 AM and 11 AM. There's also free self parking, along with the convenience of car rentals on site.

Attractions within a 10-minute drive of this 4.5-star Rotorua hotel include Skyline Rotorua and Lake Rotorua.

Regent of Rotorua ratings based on 117 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.8 out of 5 5.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 5.0 out of 5.0
Service & staff 5.0 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.5 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Regent of Rotorua

Everyone (49) Couples (52) Family (16)
5 out of 5
Nice hotel, close to eat street, town. Comfortable and nice setting. Nice breakfast. Very happy during our short stay.

Posted by on 3 Nov. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Nov. 2018 by Christine McDonald, Hotel Manager

Kia ora, Thanks for your review. We hope to see you back sometime for a longer stay.

5 out of 5
My second stay at this lovely , close to restaurants, shops, clubs. Prompt service, luxury , warm rooms. will be staying again

Posted by on 7 Aug. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
We had a really nice stay here and it was perfect for us as a family of five

Posted by on 1 Aug. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Exceeded our expectations. Wish we could have stayed longer. Room so beautiful and comfortable that we decided not to go out for dinner instead opted for a take out brought in.

Posted by on 17 Jun. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
4 out of 5
Overpriced. Not able to get dinner at hotel due to private functions. Fantastic location. Ate in eat streat -fantastic area. Shame no view of lake.

Posted by on 8 Jun. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
We had a room for 3 and were amazed to find a really wonderfully decorated and super comfortable room allocated for our use. All appointments in the room and bathroom were of good quality except for the wardrobe which had a loose locking mechanism. This caused a few awkward moments on occasion. The restaurant was just wonderful. A very nice space with interesting wine library and simply very good food. Unfortunately, we were only able to spend one night here in Rotorua as our travel timetable was fixed. We would most certainly book this motel again when we next visit Rotorua as the staff were first rate throughout and our night's stay one of the best during our recent trip on the North Island.

Posted by , from Sydney Australia on 22 Apr. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
2 out of 5

No lift, the pool is so small and bad breakfast.

The pool is so small and no lift for luggage and strollers. They offered a $50 credits for breakfast, however, there is no much to eat. The fruit is terrible. You will need to order breakfast, which is not included. They also charged extra money for toddlers. For these conditions and service. The price is definitely not worth.

Posted by on 10 Apr. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Apr. 2018 by Christine

Kia ora, We are sorry to hear that your experience staying with us did not live up to your expectations. Yes, we do not have lifts but always have staff members on hand to help with carrying any luggage to the rooms. The $50 Food and Beverage credit can be used in any way you wish - breakfast, lunch or dinner and we are once again sorry to hear that breakfast did not meet your expectations. We do not charge for under two year olds, but do charge the extra person rate for a third person in the room from the age of two years. Once again we are sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay but do hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels in New Zealand. Ngā mihi, Christine McDonald Hotel Manager

5 out of 5

Delightful in the heart of Rotorua

Location: Easy walking access to Lake Rotorua, many attractions and good eateries.
We had an awesome stay at the Regent over the weekend of the Northern Inter-provincial Touch series. The rooms were cool and comfortable, a clean and well serviced pool to cool down in and the hotel staff hugely helpful making the whole experience very pleasant. Best of all it meant we could concentrate on the tournament we were attending and our girls won there grade!

Posted by , from Auckland on 2 Feb. 2018

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Feb. 2018 by Christine McDonald

Kia ora Jeremy, We are happy you enjoyed our location, rooms, the pool, our helpful staff - AND your girls were able to win their grade! We hope to see to see you again next year. Ngā mihi, Christine McDonald Hotel Manager

5 out of 5
My family and I loved our stay. My daughters raved about the fancy decor and had fun sharing bunk beds for the fist time. We all enjoyed a swim in the outdoor pool which was a nice temperature even in August! We also plunged into the thermal pool to relax. The 11am checkout (rather than the 10am most other places offer) was very welcome. The family suite had everything we needed and more!

Posted by , from Auckland, New Zealand on 20 Aug. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?
5 out of 5
Very comfortable, clean rooms, Good parking and easy walk 2min walk to eat street.

Posted by on 10 Jan. 2017

Was this review helpful to you?

About the Regent of Rotorua

Location 1191 Pukaki St, Rotorua, 3010

Property Features

Regent of Rotorua offers its guests an outdoor pool and a fitness centre. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. Tour or ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and coffee/tea in common area are also featured at the luxury Regent of Rotorua. Free self parking is available. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4.5-star Rotorua hotel.

  • 35 guestrooms or units
  • 2 levels
  • 3 buildings
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Poolside lounge chairs
  • Umbrellas for the pool
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Coffee in lobby
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Computer for guest use
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Fireplace in lobby
  • Smoking in designated areas

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Outdoor pool
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Free cribs/infant beds
  • DVD player


Available in all rooms: Free WiFi , Free wired Internet

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi


Free self parking


  • Airport: Rotorua (ROT-Rotorua Regional) (9.5 km / 5.9 mi)
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

Regent of Rotorua offers 35 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with iPod docking stations and DVD players. Beds feature Egyptian cotton sheets, down comforters and premium bedding. LCD televisions come with satellite channels. Guests can make use of the in-room fridges, microwaves and coffee/tea makers. Bathrooms include a shower with a rainfall showerhead, a complimentary bathrobe, complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. Guests can surf the web using complimentary wired and wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and safes, as well as telephones; free local calls are provided (restrictions may apply). Additionally, rooms include minibars and an iron/ironing board. Housekeeping is offered on a daily basis and hypo-allergenic bedding can be requested.

  • Minibar
  • iPod dock
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • LCD television
  • Satellite channels
  • DVD player
  • Fridge
  • Microwave
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Egyptian cotton linens
  • Hypo-allergenic bedding
  • Down blanket
  • Shower
  • Rainfall showerhead
  • Cribs (free)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Local calls (free)
  • Hairdryer
  • Safe
  • Bathrobes
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a cooked-to-order breakfast daily from 6:30 AM to 11 AM.

Regent Room – This poolside restaurant specialises in international cuisine and serves breakfast, lunch, dinner and light fare. Guests can order drinks at the bar and enjoy al fresco dining (weather permitting). A children's menu is available.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Hotel Policies


  • Check-in time ends at 11 PM
  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open daily from 6 AM until 11 PM
If you are planning to arrive after 11 PM, please contact the property in advance using the information on the booking confirmation.

The front desk at this property is open daily from 6 AM - 11 PM
Guests arriving after 11 PM must make advance arrangements by contacting the property using the information on the booking confirmation.


  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for NZD 41.0 per night.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!


  • No pets allowed


Additional policies and fees may apply when booking more than 4 rooms. For more details, please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit or credit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.


Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Breakfast fee: between NZD 10 and NZD 28 per person (approximately)
  • Rollaway bed fee: NZD 41.0 per night

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Regent Rotorua Lodge
  • Regent Rotorua
  • Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
  • Rotorua Regent
  • Regent Rotorua Hotel

You should know

  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.

Awards & Affiliations

Green/Sustainable Property
This property participates in Qualmark, a programme that measures the property's impact on one or more of the following: The Environment, the community, the cultural heritage and the local economy.

National Rating

Qualmark® assigns an official star rating for accommodation in New Zealand. This Boutique & Lodge property has been rated 4 star plus, which is displayed on this page as 4.5 stars.

Official New Zealand Rating provided by Qualmark®