4.4 out of 5

"Nice large rooms, well equipped. Great views particularly from the restaurant. Good breakfast available at a very reasonable price. Very friendly and ... " More

By a verified traveller on Mon 27 Aug 2018

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A luxury stay in Bayswater awaits you at VR Takapuna. You'll be 3.4 km (2.1 mi) from Auckland Ferry Terminal and 3.8 km (2.4 mi) from Princes Wharf. Highlights at this Art Deco property include a restaurant, a marina and in-room kitchens.

Each apartment is soundproofed and features an LCD TV with satellite channels, along with a washer/dryer, free WiFi and an MP3 dock. A kitchen comes with a fridge, a microwave and a hob, making in-room dining convenient, and the minibar provides refreshments. Premium bedding and a down comforter welcome you to a good night's rest, and other nice touches include free toiletries. A sofa bed, a living room and a DVD player are also available.

The café, Bayswater, serves international cuisine. At the apartment's own bar/lounge, you can stop for a drink. 300 square feet (28 square metres) of event facilities include conference centres, and other business amenities include a business centre. Additionally, you'll find free WiFi in public areas, a fitness centre and a coffee shop/café. Full breakfast is available daily between 7:00 AM and 10:00 AM. There's also free self parking, along with the convenience of a free ferry terminal shuttle.

With a stay at this 4.5-star Bayswater property, you'll be 4.1 km (2.5 mi) from Takapuna Beach and 4.1 km (2.5 mi) from Spark Arena.

Standard Apartment, 1 Bedroom (Complimentary City Ferry)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max
NZ$111 per night

Superior Apartment, 1 Bedroom (Complimentary City Ferry)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Executive Apartment, 1 Bedroom (Complimentary City Ferry)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Apartment, 1 Bedroom, Harbour View (Complimentary City Ferry)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Suite, 2 Bedrooms, Harbour View (Complimentary City Ferry)

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Premier Apartment, 2 Bedrooms, Harbour View (Complimentary City Ferry)

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

VR Takapuna ratings based on 421 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.4 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for VR Takapuna

Everyone (190) Couples (146) Family (84)
5 out of 5
Spacious room. We all enjoyed daily breakfast. Free ferry ticket. Well equipped kitchen. Good staff. Outdated shower. Not walking distance to shops but very handy to ferry and bus stop.

Posted by on 3 Jun. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Jun. 2019 by Front office manager

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and giving your review. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your room and the services that we offer. Our location has the positive attribute of being over the shore, away from the hustle & bustle of the CBD making it a quieter environment with a stunning position on the waterfront, and so handy to the ferry terminal. Thank you and we hope to welcome you again in future. Kind regards,

5 out of 5
Nicely situated easy access We had a very nice room and very clean There is an option to purchase a breakfast for a small amount Great views over the city

Posted by on 17 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 May 2019 by Front office manager

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We take immense pleasure in being able to serve our guests every day and enjoy what we do. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warm Regards,

4 out of 5
L:The view from the room L: Cleanliness L: Good breakfast L: QUIET DL: Bathroom/Toilet location in room DL: Remote location DL: Quite a way to travel from Takapuna/Devonport DL: Entrance being closed @6pm and having to get after hours service.

Posted by on 15 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 May 2019 by Front office manager

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback, we are delighted to see you enjoyed most of your stay. I do apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay and have passed on your comments and suggestions to the relative department heads to be addressed. We would like to assure you that we take customer feedback very seriously as it is only your valuable comments and suggestions that help us in our continuous endeavor to make improvements. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Warm regards,

4 out of 5
Super comfortable king bed. No working fan in bathroom - inside of windows throughout the room became drenched with condensation. No detergent to hand wash dishes.

Posted by on 6 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 May 2019 by VR Takapuna Team

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear of the inconveniences you faced during your stay. We do provide detergent on request for our guests. We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations. Warm regards,

4 out of 5
Clean large rooms. Had everything needed for comfortable stay.

Posted by on 6 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 May 2019 by VR Takapuna Team

Dear Valued Guest, I am so pleased you enjoyed your short stopover with us as we enjoyed looking after you. Take care and I hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards,

4 out of 5
Only complaints were the layout (bathroom was through main bedroom so not easily accessible to third guest) and there didn’t seem to be a fan in the bathroom which caused things to get steamy. But very small issues for an otherwise generously sized apartment, great view, well priced, etc.

Posted by on 2 May 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

3 May 2019 by VR Takapuna Team

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for spending your time to share your experience with us. We are so sorry for the inconvenience you experienced in your room. We are glad apart from the above you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards,

5 out of 5
Quiet position but close enough to the city, especially if you use the ferry. Spacious rooms, perfect for a family

Posted by on 18 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Apr. 2019 by voila

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback. Best Regards, VR Takapuna Team.

4 out of 5
Staff were excellent to deal with. They went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The restaurant meals were great.

Posted by on 18 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Apr. 2019 by VR Takapuna Team

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! We pride ourselves on our friendly and efficient staff, so it is wonderful to hear that they assisted in making your stay even more enjoyable. Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Kind Regards, VR Takapuna Team

4 out of 5
Convenient location, walking distance to City ferry. Complimentary ferry tickets were a nice touch. Close to Devenport. Spacious apartment, good quality towels, sheets and pillows. However missing and dirty grout in shower was the least appealing aspect of the motel Absolutely stunning views from restaurant, the food was good but limited choice of wine, and tap beer unavailable on the night. Staff generally helpful. Very quite at night and generally comfortable and clean. Will definitely stay again

Posted by on 17 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Apr. 2019 by VR Takapuna Team

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to place your feedback about our hotel. I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we were able to make your stay Comfortable. I do apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay due to the bathroom and I have passed on your comments and suggestions to the relative department head to be addressed. We appreciate the feedback you have posted, and we are happy to hear you would stay again. We look forward to welcoming you back. Warm regards, VR Takapuna Team

5 out of 5
Price value clean all amenities in house room service

Posted by on 13 Apr. 2019

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

15 Apr. 2019 by VR Takapuna Team

Dear Valued guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are very glad to hear that you had a very positive experience! Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Warm regards,

Property Features

VR Takapuna offers its guests a marina and a fitness centre. Along with a restaurant, there's a coffee shop/café on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. A computer station is on site and WiFi is free in public spaces. A business centre and a meeting room are available. Event space at this apartment measures 300 square feet (28 square metres) and includes conference centres. A terrace, tour or ticket assistance, and multilingual staff are also featured at the luxury VR Takapuna. Free self parking is available. This Art Deco Bayswater apartment is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 32 guestrooms or units
  • 3 levels
  • 300 sq ft of conference space
  • 28 sq. m of conference space
  • Built in 2011
  • Dining venue
  • Bar or lounge
  • Coffee shop
  • Conference centre
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (limited hours)
  • Staff members are multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Wedding services available
  • Terrace
  • Garden
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Bellhop
  • Lift
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family Property
  • Separate living room
  • Free WiFi
  • Soundproofed rooms
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Sofa bed
  • Washer/dryer
  • Full-sized refrigerator/freezer
  • Microwave
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Free self parking

Transport

  • Airport: Auckland (AKL-Auckland Intl.) (38.9 km / 24.2 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Free ferry terminal shuttle
  • Parking: Free self parking

Room Amenities

VR Takapuna offers 32 forms of air-conditioned accommodation with MP3 docking stations and washers/dryers. This accommodation has separate living rooms and is furnished with queen sofa beds. Beds feature down comforters and premium bedding. 32-inch LCD televisions come with premium satellite channels and DVD players. Accommodation at this 4.5-star apartment has kitchens with full-sized fridge/freezers, hobs, microwaves and kitchenware and utensils. Bathrooms include a shower, complimentary toiletries and a hairdryer. This Bayswater apartment provides complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks, complimentary newspapers and telephones. Additionally, rooms feature minibars and laptop-compatible safes. Housekeeping is provided on a daily basis.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Washer and dryer
  • Living room
  • Pull-out sofa bed
  • Minibar
  • MP3 dock
  • In-room dining (limited hours)
  • HD television
  • Satellite channels
  • Premium channels
  • DVD player
  • Fridge (full size)
  • Microwave
  • Hob
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Luxury bedding
  • Down blanket
  • Shower
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hairdryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Air conditioning
  • Ensuite bathroom

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy a full breakfast daily from 7:00 AM to 10:00 AM.

Bayswater – This beachfront café specialises in international cuisine. Guests can enjoy drinks at the bar.

Room service (during limited hours) is available.

Nearby Activities

Recreational amenities at the apartment include a fitness centre.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Check-in time ends at 8 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Special check-in instructions:

The front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday-Friday: 7 AM-10 PM
  • Saturday-Sunday: 8 AM-6 PM

Guests arriving outside these times should use the speakerphone located on the right side of the main entrance. Press the button and provide your name and details to the operator, the main door will then open for you. Pick up your room key which is placed in an envelope with your room number and instructions on the reception desk. Please follow these instructions, if you have any issues please call the number provided on the reception counter (next to phone).

This property's front desk is open during the following times:

  • Monday - Friday: 7 AM - 10 PM
  • Saturday - Sunday: 8 AM - 6 PM

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for NZD 40 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for NZD 25 per stay.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

  • Debit cards not accepted

Fees

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for full breakfast: NZD 25 per person (approximately)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: NZD 25 per stay
  • Rollaway bed fee: NZD 40 per night
  • On-site credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 2.5 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Auckland Takapuna Oaks Apartment Bayswater
  • Auckland Takapuna Oaks Apartment
  • Auckland Takapuna Oaks Bayswater
  • Auckland Takapuna Oaks
  • VR Takapuna Apartment Bayswater
  • VR Takapuna Apartment
  • VR Takapuna Bayswater

You should know

  • VR Takapuna offers transfers from the ferry terminal. Please contact the property at the number on the booking confirmation with your arrival details prior to travel.

National Rating

This property does not have a Qualmark® rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our ratings system.