Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
4.3 out of 5

"Clean. Comfy beds. Bathrooms are dated but adequate. Great location. Staff were really awesome and accommodating. " More

By a verified traveller on Sat 15 Jan 2022

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

A family-friendly stay in the heart of Queenstown awaits you at Novotel Queenstown Lakeside. You'll be 0.1 km (0.1 mi) from Lake Wakatipu and 0.8 km (0.5 mi) from Skyline Queenstown. Highlights at this hotel include a restaurant, a bar/lounge, and a spa tub.

All 273 rooms feature LCD TVs with satellite channels, and you can enjoy balconies or patios, WiFi, and wired Internet. Minibars provide refreshments, and 24-hour room service is also available. Nice touches to enhance your stay include free toiletries and pillow menus. Additionally, in-room childcare, free newspapers, and safes are available.

The restaurant, Elements, is open for breakfast and dinner. 646 square feet (60 square meters) of event facilities include a meeting room, and other business amenities include a business center. Other amenities include free WiFi in public areas, a gym, and laundry facilities. Each morning buffet breakfast is served between 6 AM and 10:30 AM. There's also the convenience of valet parking.

Places within a 5-minute walk of this 4-star Queenstown City Centre hotel include Williams Cottage and Church of St Peters.

Standard Double Room, 2 Double Beds

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max
NZ$156* Per night/room 30 Jan. - 31 Jan.

Double Room, 2 Double Beds, Lakeside

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Standard Room, 1 King Bed, View

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Double Room, 2 Double Beds, View

Bed Count 2 Full Beds Maximum Occupancy 4 Max

Room, 1 King Bed, Lakeside

Bed Count 1 King Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Standard Room, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

Novotel Queenstown Lakeside ratings based on 200 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
4.3 out of 5 4.5 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 4.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 4.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 4.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 4.0 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for Novotel Queenstown Lakeside

Everyone (120) Couples (38) Business (1) Family (33) Other (1)
4 out of 5
Clean. Comfy beds. Bathrooms are dated but adequate. Great location. Staff were really awesome and accommodating.

Posted by on 15 Jan. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

17 Jan. 2022 by Ashleigh Judd-Guest Relations Manager

Dear Belinda, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. its great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and our friendly team made sure that you were well looked after. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Lakeside in the near future.

4 out of 5
Outstanding location, service and staff. However the property is very “aged” and definitely needs a major upgrade

Posted by on 12 Jan. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

14 Jan. 2022 by Ashleigh Judd-Guest Relations Manager

Dear McDonald, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Its great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us. We are currently in the planning stages of a major refurb- which is exciting. We hope to share these plans later on in the year. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Lakeside in the near future.

5 out of 5
Staff were all amazing. Grounds are lovely and an afternoon drink outside was fab. Room was a little bit dated.

Posted by on 7 Jan. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

9 Jan. 2022 by Ashleigh-Guest Relations Manager

Dear Sarah, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Lakeside. Its great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our Novotel garden. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Lakeside in the near future. Warm Regards,

3 out of 5
No expellair in bathroom, paid extra for lakeside, our unit had no outdoor table, no car park.

Posted by on 4 Jan. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Jan. 2022 by Marty Lamont - Operations Manager

Hi Trish, Thank you for your review and I'm sorry that your experience with us was not what you expected. Our lakeside rooms at the front of the hotel have communal chairs and tables for guests to enjoy. We do not have dedicated chairs and tables for each room as it becomes too cluttered and restricts the space on the courtyards to the lakeside rooms. We can however work to accommodate requests for extra chairs or tables for guests to enjoy their stay. As for the car park, we do have valet parking and self-parking options available although around New Years Eve parking become quite challenging within the town centre and I'm sorry if this was the case. I hope you managed to enjoy the other aspects of your stay and thanks once again for sharing your feedback, I hope you will give us the chance to accommodate you again in the future

3 out of 5
Staff were great, unfortunately the room we stayed in was very dated and needed a bit of a do up. Shower over bath, paint chipped, leaking taps. Also parking was very expensive $20 per 24 hours located off site and during the Xmas period really hard to get a park, definitely adds up when your staying for a while. No free parking options available, room was expensive compared to other accommodation in Qtown

Posted by on 2 Jan. 2022

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

11 Jan. 2022 by Marty Lamont - Operations Manager

Hi Emma, Thank you for leaving a review and I appreciate you making mention of the friendliness of the staff. I do apologise that some of the facilities in your room were not up to standard. It would be good to know which room you stayed if you haven't already reported the issues during your stay, as I'd like to ensure the issues are rectified. I appreciate you sharing your feedback and we do share all review with the team to ensure we can make improvements where needed. I hope you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your time in beautiful Queenstown. Thanks,

5 out of 5
Great location and very friendly staff

Posted by on 10 Dec. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

13 Dec. 2021 by Ashleigh Judd- Guest Relations Manager

Dear Murray, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Its great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our prime location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Lakeside in the near future.

5 out of 5
Close to lake

Posted by on 24 Oct. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

25 Oct. 2021 by Ashleigh Judd- Guest Relations Manager

Dear Greg, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Its great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Lakeside in the near future

5 out of 5
Suited our needs. Very handy to town. Loved the free upgrade to a mountain view (but guessing this was because there was road works outside the hotel on the lake view end at the time of our stay). Staff very accomodating and the spa was just what the doctor needed. The guess laundry was just perfect for when I required it.

Posted by on 20 Oct. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

21 Oct. 2021 by Ashleigh Judd- Guest Relations Manager

Dear Janelle, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the spa! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Lakeside in the near future. Warm Regards, Ashleigh Judd Guest Relations Manager

5 out of 5
Nice experience

Posted by on 12 Oct. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Oct. 2021 by Ashleigh Judd- Guest Relations Manager

Dear Kiran, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Its great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Lakeside in the near future. Warm Regards, Ashleigh Judd Guest Relations Manager

4 out of 5
Great location, staff fantastic to deal with, wasn’t aware of the non free parking on site though

Posted by on 10 Oct. 2021

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

12 Oct. 2021 by Ashleigh Judd- Guest Relations Manager

Dear Kathy, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Its great to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed our prime location. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Lakeside in the near future. Warm Regards, Ashleigh Judd Guest Relations Manager

Renovations + Closures

Due to COVID-19, this property’s food and beverage options may be limited.

Property Features

Novotel Queenstown Lakeside offers its guests a spa tub and a fitness center. There's a restaurant on site. You can enjoy a drink at the bar/lounge. WiFi is free in public spaces. Business amenities include a business center and a meeting room. Event space at this hotel measures 646 square feet (60 square meters). Tour/ticket assistance, multilingual staff, and ski storage are also featured at the family-friendly Novotel Queenstown Lakeside. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. Smoking is allowed in designated areas at this 4-star Queenstown hotel.

  • 1 building
  • 273 guestrooms or units
  • 4 levels
  • 646 sq ft of conference space
  • 60 sq m of conference space
  • Built in 1988
  • Childcare (surcharge)
  • Ski lift tickets
  • Ski equipment storage
  • Charging station for electric cars
  • Business facilities
  • Breakfast available (surcharge)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Express check-in
  • Express check-out
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Tour and ticket information
  • Concierge
  • Garden
  • Outdoor picnic space
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Bellhop
  • Elevator
  • Smoking in designated areas
  • Bar or lounge
  • 1 conference room
  • Dining venue

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Family property
  • Free WiFi
  • Laundry facilities
  • Babysitting or childcare (surcharge)
  • In-room childcare (surcharge)
  • Free cribs/infant beds

Internet

Available in all rooms: WiFi (surcharge) , Wired internet access (surcharge)

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Valet parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces) , Offsite parking discounted rates available

Transport

  • Parking: Valet parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

Novotel Queenstown Lakeside offers 273 accommodations with minibars and laptop-compatible safes. Rooms open to balconies or patios. A pillow menu is available. 21-inch LCD televisions come with satellite channels and pay movies. Bathrooms include shower/tub combinations, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. This Queenstown hotel provides wired and wireless Internet access for a surcharge. Business-friendly amenities include desks, complimentary newspapers, and phones. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • Private balcony or patio
  • Minibar
  • In-room dining (24 hours)
  • LCD television
  • Satellite channels
  • Movies for purchase
  • Pillow options
  • Shower and tub combination
  • Cribs (free)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Newspapers (free)
  • Childcare in room (surcharge)
  • Hair dryer
  • Laptop safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Telephone
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Connecting rooms available

Food & Drink

For a fee, guests can enjoy buffet breakfast daily from 6 AM to 10:30 AM.

Elements - This restaurant serves breakfast and dinner. A children's menu is available.

24-hour room service is available.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is: 18
  • Check-in time ends at 5:30 AM

Special check-in instructions:

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Front desk staff will greet guests on arrival.

Check-out

  • Check-out by 11 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Kids stay free! Up to 2 children stay free when using existing bedding.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are not available.
  • Free cribs (infant beds)!

Pet Policy

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification may be required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges.

The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation. This property accepts Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Diners Club, JCB International, debit cards, and cash.

For guests' safety, the property includes a smoke detector and window guards in each accommodation. This property advises that enhanced cleaning and guest safety measures are currently in place. Disinfectant is used to clean the property; commonly-touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant between stays; bed sheets and towels are laundered at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F. Personal protective equipment, including masks and gloves, will be available to guests. Social distancing measures are in place; staff at the property wear personal protective equipment; a shield is in place between staff and guests in main contact areas; guests are provided with hand sanitizer; cashless payment methods are available for all transactions; contactless room service is available; masks are required in public areas. Contactless check-out is available. Individually-wrapped food options are available for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and also through room service. Enhanced food service safety measures are in place. This property affirms that it follows the cleaning and disinfection practices of ALLSAFE (Accor Hotels).

  • No rollaway/extra beds available
  • Number of children who can stay for free – 2
  • Debit cards
  • Staffed front desk
  • LGBTQIA friendly
  • Property is cleaned with disinfectant
  • Staff wear personal protective equipment
  • Protective clothing is available for guests
  • Masks are available for guests
  • Gloves are available for guests
  • Shield between guests and staff in main contact areas
  • Guests are provided with free hand sanitiser
  • Social distancing measures are in place
  • Contactless check-in is not available
  • Property follows a brand or regulatory agency's sanitisation guidelines ALLSAFE (Accor Hotels)
  • Property confirms they are implementing enhanced cleaning measures
  • Individually wrapped food options are available
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for breakfast
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for lunch
  • Individually wrapped food options are available for dinner
  • Individually wrapped food options are available through room service
  • No gap period between guests' stays
  • Staff temperature checks are not conducted regularly
  • Temperature checks are not available to guests
  • Bed sheets and towels are washed at a temperature of at least 60°C/140°F
  • Commonly touched surfaces are cleaned with disinfectant
  • Property confirms they are implementing guest safety measures
  • Contactless check-out is available
  • Property does not follow sanitisation practices of any association
  • Guest accommodation is not sealed after cleaning
  • Electrostatic spray is not used for disinfection
  • Cashless transactions are available
  • Masks are compulsory at the property
  • Contactless food service / room service is available
  • Mobile key entry is not available
  • Food service has been amended for enhanced safety
  • Property does not offer on-site COVID-19 testing

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: NZD 100 per night

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Fee for buffet breakfast: NZD 33.00 for adults and NZD 17.50 for children (approximately)
  • Fee for in-room wireless Internet: NZD 10 per night (rates may vary)
  • Fee for in-room wired Internet: NZD 10 per night (rates may vary)
  • Valet parking fee: NZD 25.00 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Nearby parking fee: NZD 20 per night (164 ft away)
  • Early check-in is available for a fee (subject to availability)
  • Late check-out is available for a fee (subject to availability)
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 2 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Lakeside Novotel
  • Lakeside Novotel Queenstown
  • Novotel Lakeside
  • Novotel Lakeside Hotel
  • Novotel Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
  • Novotel Lakeside Queenstown
  • Novotel Queenstown
  • Novotel Queenstown Lakeside
  • Queenstown Lakeside
  • Queenstown Novotel
  • Novotel Gardens Queenstown
  • Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown
  • Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel
  • Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel
  • Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Queenstown
  • Novotel Queenstown Lakeside Hotel Queenstown

You should know

  • Please note that this property can refuse certain bookings for the purpose of group events or parties, which include pre-wedding stag/bachelor and hen/bachelorette parties.
  • Registered guests are the only ones allowed to be in guestrooms.
  • Connecting/adjoining rooms are subject to availability and can be requested by contacting the property at the number on your booking confirmation.
  • This property welcomes guests of all sexual orientations and gender identities (LGBTQ friendly).

Awards & Affiliations

  • UNESCO Sustainable Tourism Pledge

National Rating

Qualmark® assigns an official star rating for accommodations in New Zealand. This Hotel property is rated 4 stars.

Official New Zealand Rating provided by Qualmark®

url importing http://www.wotif.co.nz/Queenstown-Hotels-Novotel-Queenstown-Lakeside.h911529-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
There was an error importing /Queenstown-Hotels-Novotel-Queenstown-Lakeside.h911529-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&, error: javax.servlet.jsp.JspTagException: 301 http://www.wotif.co.nz/Queenstown-Hotels-Novotel-Queenstown-Lakeside.h911529-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.