Skip to main content
Beginning of main content
3.9 out of 5

"Close to business area,good eating areas,very cramped rooms carpet dirty dont walk on it in bare feet if u dont want them to be black " More

By a verified traveller on Tue 18 Feb 2020

Enter dates to see availability

Hotel Description

VR Auckland City puts you in the heart of Auckland, within just a 10-minute stroll of popular attractions like Aotea Centre and Sky Tower. Highlights at this aparthotel include in-room kitchens, washers/dryers, and free WiFi.

Each apartment is soundproofed and features a TV with cable channels, along with a DVD player, a coffee/tea maker, and a safe. In-room dining is easy with a kitchen that comes equipped with a refrigerator, a microwave, and a stovetop. Nice touches to enhance your stay include free toiletries and premium bedding. A hair dryer, an iron/ironing board, and a desk are also available.

This business-friendly aparthotel offers free WiFi in public areas, a 24-hour front desk, and dry cleaning/laundry services. Other amenities include laundry facilities, free newspapers in the lobby, and multilingual staff. Free on-the-go breakfast is available. There's also self parking, along with the convenience of an airport shuttle.

Attractions within a 10-minute walk of this 4.5-star Auckland Central Business District aparthotel include Queen Street Shopping District and SkyCity Casino.

Studio Suite, 1 Queen Bed

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max
NZ$125* Per night/room 15 Mar. - 16 Mar.

Family Room, 2 Bedrooms

Bed Count 2 Queen Beds Maximum Occupancy 5 Max

Executive Room, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 3 Max

Classic Room, 1 Bedroom

Bed Count 1 Queen Bed Maximum Occupancy 2 Max

VR Auckland City ratings based on 943 Verified Reviews

Review Summary
3.9 out of 5 4.0 out of 5.0
Room cleanliness 3.5 out of 5.0
Service & staff 3.5 out of 5.0
Room comfort 3.0 out of 5.0
Hotel condition 3.5 out of 5.0

Guest reviews for VR Auckland City

Everyone (483) Couples (235) Business (4) Family (219)
4 out of 5

Posted by on 24 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Feb. 2020 by Harshna

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for rating us. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. We hope to see you back in the near future, thank you for your support. Warm Regards,

3 out of 5

Posted by on 19 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Feb. 2020 by Harshna

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and providing your valuable rating.We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future Warm regards,

5 out of 5

Posted by on 18 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

19 Feb. 2020 by Harshna

Dear Valued Guest, It is great to hear that you had a first class stay with us! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel! We hope you will come back and visit us soon! Warm regards

3 out of 5
Close to business area,good eating areas,very cramped rooms carpet dirty dont walk on it in bare feet if u dont want them to be black

Posted by , from Benalla on 18 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

18 Feb. 2020 by Harshna

Dear Mr. John, Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies that your experience was less than top-notch. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence. We have undertaken a comprehensive training scheme with our staff regarding the standard of housekeeping. This is of major concern to me.I have addressed your concerns with our Executive Housekeeper and will follow up personally to understand what we can do better as a property. It is disappointing to hear that our service did not work, as it should have. We are sorry once again that your stay was not top-notch sincere apologies and we welcome you back again, kindly contact us directly at reception whenever you wish to visit Auckland again and I would personally make sure that your stay is delightful. Warm regards,

4 out of 5
The room was quiet small but comfortable. Good kitchen with stove, oven and good size fridge, if you want to cook at home. The bathroom was ok but had no storage except for a couple of small shelves. The king size bed was comfortable with little room to move around it and no storage at all in the bedroom. There was a wardrobe in the lounge area. Room 704 had good views over the city and harbour. I couldn’t get a car park the first night because I didn’t book ahead, so had to park down the street in a Wilson car park. The parking at the hotel was a rip-off at $30 per night for the remainder of my stay. Overall, it was quite a nice place to stay for the price.

Posted by on 15 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

16 Feb. 2020 by Harshna

Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. We are happy to know that our hotel location and other room amenities has the positive attribute of your stay. We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence. Further to your concerns, we would like to advise you that our hotel has limited spaces available at the car park and we advise our guests to pre-book car park spaces while booking their accommodation. This information is also available on our hotel website, online portals, guest itinerary emails and confirmation. We would request you to kindly book a car park in advance to avoid any inconvenience Take care and Please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Warm regards,

5 out of 5
Great Hotel as we were looking for bigger rooms for our family. The VR Auckland rooms were large, clean and comfortable. Limited parking but the staff still squeezed us in. Talking about the staff, they were very friendly, helpful and very accommodating. The hotel is within walking distance to most venues and easy to get to. Thank you for an excellent stay.

Posted by , from Brisbane, QLD Australia on 5 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

5 Feb. 2020 by Harshna

Dear Mr. Geoff-Fran, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback and are happy to note that you had a comfortable and good experience with us. It is nice to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer delight. I shall certainly convey your compliments to all our staff. We are very glad to hear that our little touches enhanced your stay and you had a lovely time. We strive to provide an environment that is as comfortable and welcoming as possible, so you truly do feel like the hotel is ‘a home away from home’. I am so glad that the team achieved this for you for your stay. I hope your trip back home was fine. Take care and please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Warm regards,

2 out of 5
Reception staff lovely, quickish check in process but the good stuff ends there.

Posted by on 3 Feb. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

4 Feb. 2020 by Harshna

Dear Valued Guest, We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback. It is nice to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer delight. Any feedback we receive helps to make us better. we appreciate all constructive comments, giving us a better idea of future improvements. Take care and please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Warm regards,

4 out of 5
It did the job for a quick overnight stay. Rooms were nowhere up to the standard they are photographed at and a lot more run down, however it was clean and tidy, beds were comfortable, and overall it was a comfortable, and restful stay. No dish cloth or detergent was disappointing as we couldnt wash our dishes properly, but a bonus breaky we didnt know was inc was basic but good to get us on the move quickly the following morning. Close to the city, 5 min walk. We are staying here again in a weeks time in a same booked room (two bedroom apartment) (prebooked) , will be interesting to see if same room or a different one that may be not so run down.

Posted by on 29 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

30 Jan. 2020 by Harshna

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused. All such feedback's are investigated, and a corrective measure is put in place in the form of training our staff and ensuring that such incidents do not occur in the future. We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence. The issue which was raised in your feedback that will help us to improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and feedback to the relevant department heads to address. Take care and please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Warm regards,

2 out of 5
Location and that it offered 2 bedrooms. Sadly the pictures online don’t show the full story. Carpets are very stained and dirty looking. Was told they are updating in about 3 weeks but definatly should have been done a long time ago. A bit more time could have been taken in cleaning rooms. Staff did apologise and show us other options in the complex. Changed our room, and although still tired was better than the first one.

Posted by on 25 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

26 Jan. 2020 by Harshna

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you so much for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused. All such feedback's are investigated, and a corrective measure is put in place in the form of training our staff and ensuring that such incidents do not occur in the future. We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence. Take care and please stay in touch with us and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future! Warm regards,

2 out of 5
Unit smelled of smoke, dirt-covered towels left in washing machine. Receptionists excellent though!

Posted by on 24 Jan. 2020

Was this review helpful to you?
Comment from Hotel Management

24 Jan. 2020 by Harshna

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. I am sorry to hear that your stay was not up to your expectations. We have noted your concerns very carefully and have taken appropriate actions to avoid any such re-occurrence. We at the hotel try our best to avoid any discomfort. The issue which was raised in your feedback that will help us to improve as a property. I have passed on your recommendations and your points about the housekeeping have been expressed to the staff concerned and they have been advised to be more careful in future. I am sure these will not be repeated in future Warm regards,

Property Features

Free breakfast is available. WiFi is free in public spaces. The business-friendly VR Auckland City also features multilingual staff, complimentary newspapers in the lobby, and laundry facilities. Limited parking is available for a fee and is offered on a first-come, first-served basis. This 4.5-star Auckland aparthotel is smoke free.

  • 1 building
  • 83 guestrooms or units
  • 10 levels
  • Built in 2005
  • To-go breakfast (free)
  • Dry cleaning
  • Self-service laundry
  • Front desk (24 hours)
  • Staff is multilingual
  • Storage area for luggage
  • Front-desk safe
  • Newspapers in lobby (free)
  • Television in lobby
  • Elevator
  • No smoking on site

Family Friendly Amenities

  • Free WiFi
  • Soundproofed rooms
  • Kitchen
  • Laundry facilities
  • Washer/dryer
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • DVD player

Internet

Available in all rooms: Free WiFi

Available in some public areas: Free WiFi

Parking

Self parking (surcharge) , Parking (limited spaces)

Transport

  • Airport: Auckland (AKL-Auckland Intl.) (20.4 km / 12.6 mi)
  • Train station: Auckland Britomart Station (1.8 km / 1.1 mi)
  • Property shuttles: Airport shuttle
  • Parking: Self parking available for a surcharge

Room Amenities

VR Auckland City offers 83 air-conditioned accommodations with washers/dryers and DVD players. Each accommodation is individually furnished. Beds feature premium bedding. Televisions come with premium cable channels. Accommodations at this 4.5-star aparthotel have kitchens with refrigerators, stovetops, microwaves, and cookware/dishes/utensils. Bathrooms include showers, complimentary toiletries, and hair dryers. Guests can surf the web using the complimentary wireless Internet access. Business-friendly amenities include desks and safes. Additionally, rooms include coffee/tea makers and irons/ironing boards. Housekeeping is provided daily.

  • In-room kitchen
  • Washer and dryer
  • HD television
  • Cable channels
  • Premium channels
  • DVD player
  • Refrigerator
  • Microwave
  • Stove
  • Dishwasher
  • Coffee maker
  • Kitchenware
  • Luxury bedding
  • Shower
  • Cribs (surcharge)
  • Rollaway beds (surcharge)
  • Housekeeping (daily)
  • Hair dryer
  • Safe
  • Toiletries (free)
  • Iron and ironing board
  • Desk
  • Blackout drapes
  • Sound-insulated rooms
  • Climate control (air conditioning)
  • Ensuite bathroom
  • Unique furnishings

Food & Drink

Guests are served free on-the-go breakfast.

Hotel Policies

Check-in

  • Check-in time ends at midnight
  • Check-in time starts at 2 PM
  • Minimum check-in age is 18

Check-out

  • Check-out by 10 AM

Payment types

Children and extra beds

  • Children are welcome.
  • Rollaway/extra beds are available for NZD 25.0 per night.
  • Cribs (infant beds) are available for NZD 25.0 per stay.

Pets

  • No pets allowed

Policies

Guests must contact this hotel in advance to reserve onsite parking. Please contact the property using the information on the reservation confirmation received after booking.

Charges for extra guests may apply and vary according to property policy.

A cash deposit, credit card, or debit card for incidental charges and government-issued photo identification are required upon check-in.

Special requests are subject to availability at the time of check-in. Special requests can't be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. The name on the credit card used at check-in to pay for incidentals must be the primary name on the guestroom reservation.

  • Debit cards not accepted

Fees

Guests will be asked to pay the following charges at the property:

  • Deposit: NZD 250 per stay

We've listed all charges provided to us by the property, but they may vary based on length of stay or the room booked.

Optional extras

The fees and deposits listed below will be charged at the time of service, check-in, or check-out.

  • Self parking fee: NZD 30.00 per night (in/out privileges)
  • Crib (infant bed) fee: NZD 25.0 per stay
  • Rollaway bed fee: NZD 25.0 per night
  • Credit card charges are subject to a surcharge of 2.5 percent

This may not be a comprehensive list. Fees and deposits are subject to change and might not include tax.

Hotel Names

  • Auckland City Oaks
  • Auckland City Oaks Apartment
  • Oaks Auckland City
  • Auckland City Oaks Hotel Auckland Central
  • Auckland City Oaks New Zealand
  • Oaks On Hobson
  • VR Auckland City Apartment
  • Auckland City Oaks Hotel Central
  • VR Auckland City New Zealand
  • VR Auckland City Aparthotel
  • VR Aparthotel
  • Oaks On Hobson
  • VR Auckland City New Zealand
  • VR Auckland City Auckland
  • VR Auckland City Aparthotel
  • VR Auckland City Aparthotel Auckland

National Rating

This property does not have a Qualmark® rating. For the benefit of our customers, we have provided a rating based on our rating system.

url importing https://www.wotif.co.nz/Auckland-Hotels-VR-Auckland-City.h1404103-p2.Hotel-Reviews?rm1=a2&
*Price based on the lowest price found within past 24 hours and based upon one night stay for two adults over the next thirty days. Prices and availability subject to change. Additional terms may apply.